Cleaning a 2013 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by realph, Jan 4, 2015.

  1. realph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #1
    What's the best way to dry-clean a 2013 Mac Pro? Mine's gathered a bit of dust over the last couple of months and I was wondering what would be the preferred method of keeping it looking new and less dusty.

    Any help with this is appreciated. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Tucom, Jan 5, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2015

    Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #2
    Vacuum with dusting brush attachment - gets the dust out where a cloth wouldn't and doesn't build up static electricity (if that would be an issue/or happen with a cloth?). Or just use a lint-free cloth if no vacuum. Don't know what other way there is to de-dust lol
     
  3. s-hatland macrumors regular

    s-hatland

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #3
    along with vaccuming, or sucking, you could also try blowing with either a compressed can of air or an air compressor. if the latter, be sure to drain the tank as you don't want any moisture in the line blown all over your electronics. personally, i find the air compressor route to be the most robust as it's plenty of pressure (power) to loosen dust bunnies and can reach places a vaccum can't.
     
  4. Verdenshersker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #4
    +1

    I always have a Can or two of the Compressed Air, the one I have is from Target called "Dust Off", so I guess these are for dusting off :)

    They were like $5, you can probably find them cheaper online..
     
  5. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #5
    I went to the extreme and bought a 2 or 3 gallon air compressor for various things, but also to clean my computers. They are pretty handy for several things, and definitely better than those pressurized air cans. Then again, if you'd rather spend $5 on a can instead of $40 on the compressor, that's understandable. BTW, the AIR cans aren't filled with air---it's gas.
     
  6. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    i used my exroomate's leaf blower once

    please do not try this at home
     
  7. ClassObject macrumors 6502

    ClassObject

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #7
    Don't use a vacuum. Static electricity will happen.
     
  8. Larry-K macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #8
    You may want to use a to use a moisture trap.
     
  9. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #9
    After a while, moisture DOES built up and droplets of water can come out of the nozzle; however, that's only if the compressor is use for overly-extended periods of time. It has a pull-release valve-type thing on the side to get rid of any moisture.
     
  10. Larry-K macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #10
    You should be good then. I've used compressors for airbrushing for years and a little moisture can ruin things, so all mine have 2 or three stages of filtration.
     

Share This Page