Cleaning Out Fonts to Quicken TenFourFox

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by z970mp, Jul 21, 2019.

1. z970mp macrumors 68000

z970mp

http://tenfourfox.blogspot.com/2019/07/clean-out-your-fonts-people.html

New post by Dr. Kaiser detailing how disabling all installed fonts to the bare minimum can improve TFF's startup times and browsing speed.

At the end of the previous post, there is also a comment string that goes more into detail about this, proposing a recommended minimum fonts for Tiger (which does not include Leopard, unfortunately).

http://tenfourfox.blogspot.com/2019/07/tenfourfox-fpr15-available.html

In other news, thanks to @eyoungren, the useless Telemetry options (Telemetry altogether?) will be disabled in FPR16, right out of the box.

2. eyoungren macrumors Core

eyoungren

Well…font management.

I'm a Graphic Designer by profession so I have well over 8000 fonts or so on my system. Not all in the fonts folders of course, I use a font manager.

Here's the Bible on font management if you're truly interested in paring things to a minimum: http://www.jklstudios.com/misc/osxfonts.html

And…more relevant to PowerPC: http://www.jklstudios.com/misc/OldArticle/osxold.html

3. wicknix macrumors 6502

wicknix

While all this is true, if he were really concerned about speed and start up times he'd disable all the junk i did in IceWeaselPPC. There is so much unneeded background garbage running in TFF it's not funny. Do a memory test between the 2 and you'll see a HUGE difference (including start up times even without the font tweak).

Cheers.

4. sparty411, Jul 21, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2019

sparty411 macrumors regular

sparty411

Have you considered providing him with your input? Just curious, as I have no idea how receptive he might be to that sort of thing.

5. z970mp thread starter macrumors 68000

z970mp