Cleaning retina display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by telitsa, Nov 27, 2013.

1. telitsa, Nov 27, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2013

telitsa macrumors newbie

Hello,
    I've bought a rMBP and I'm new to Apple computers in general.
    I was wondering, how do you clean the display? Is there any difference with other screens?
    Why do I feel like it needs cleaning almost every day?
    Is a screen protector a good idea to use?
    Thanks!

2. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

MacModMachine

clean it with luke warm water , do not use cleaning solutions as they scratch the screen.

apply it to the cloth first , then wipe the screen down.

3. rgarjr macrumors 603

rgarjr

I only clean it when it has fingerprints on it. You don't need a screen protector like iPhones do.

4. whiteonline macrumors 6502

whiteonline

Typical for plastic screens - use a microfiber cloth, don't press too hard. If you need some assistance, a small bit of water on a small part of the cloth, the polish clean with the dry part. Don't leave a keyboard cover on when you close the lid due to the little clearance between keyboard and screen (immediate oil transfer).

The trick is to not pay attention to it when the screen is off. You don't notice half of it while the display is on. The less you touch it, the better.

5. telitsa thread starter macrumors newbie

That's true! It's amazing how it looks when it's off! I guess I should start with this tip! :p

6. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

7. nealh macrumors 6502

8. Merkava_4 macrumors 6502a

9. Polyphonie macrumors member

Polyphonie

I'm pretty sure it's not a plastic screen. It may sound like one when you tap it but try tapping the screen on your iPad or iPhone and it'll make the same sound (kinda plasticky thud). The screen on the rMBP is either Gorilla Glass or something very similar.