All iPads Cleaning the screen

Discussion in 'iPad' started by badman89, May 11, 2013.

1. badman89 macrumors regular

2. donnaw macrumors 65816

I'm using my 3rd iPad. On all of them I have simply used a clean wash cloth slightly damp with plain water. I dampen one end, wipe the screen and dry it with the dry end.

The main thing to think about is that whatever you use should be clean. Otherwise you run the risk of a small piece of dirt or grit scratching your screen. So if you do decide to get a new cloth be sure to wash it regularly. Which is why I just grab a clean cloth from the linen closet.

While you certainly can buy expensive cleaners and cloths it's not necessary. Don't make it any more difficult than it needs to be.

3. badman89 thread starter macrumors regular

Ok. Thanks for your response, but I think your situation is probably quite different than mine.

I'm a college student, and I don't have a "linen closet", much less a linen closet that's full of clean cloths!

I'm not sure if you actually clicked on the link I was asking about. It's 2.50 for a pack of 6 cloths. That hardly qualifies as "expensive."

4. Aspasia macrumors 65816

Halfway between the Equator and North Pole
    The microfiber cloths will do a great job. In most cases you don't even need to add any liquid to the cloth - unless your screen is really grungy.

5. donnaw macrumors 65816

I did look at the link. And even if you do buy those cloths unless you keep them clean you run the risk of scratching your screen. I know it's been a long time since I was in college (a few decades since I'm now 62) but even these days college students still do laundry (I hope).

Guess I'm just 'old school'. Why add to your pile of possessions that still must be laundered? But if you have no wash cloths or old T-shirts (or any clean, soft cloth), those will do nicely.