Clear all notifications on iPad Pro using Pencil!

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by ideal.dreams, Jul 8, 2016.

  1. ideal.dreams macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #1
    So on iOS 10 on an iPhone 6S, you can clear all notifications by using 3D touch to press on the clear button. You can achieve the same effect on an iPad Pro by using the Apple Pencil to apply pressure on the clear button instead. Instead of recognizing force from the display, the iPad recognizes force from the Pencil and does the same thing as it would on an iPhone 6S.

    Neat attention to detail from Apple!
     
  2. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #2
    I'll have to test later. If true they need to continue that into all other areas of 3D Touch. Would be sweet.
     
  3. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #3
    I was thinking the same thing...would be an interesting way to bring that compatibility to the iPad.
     
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    Especially for pro model.
     
  5. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #5
    Yeah, that's what I always think when trying out store demo IPad Pro.
     
  6. GrindedDown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    I wouldn't be surprised if this is the testing ground for getting 3d touch functionality on the ipad pro via the pencil. If they can get this feature perfected so it works well, implementing it in the rest of the OS should be a much easier task. We'll see though.
     
  7. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #7
    Tried this out a couple days ago. Looks and functions identical to a 3D Touch.

    I definitely hope this is a sign of the rest of 3D Touch functionality through the Pencil is to come. Since it was added in beta 2. More could be coming in future betas.
     
  8. Feenician Suspended

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #8
    Nice. Forgot to give this a try
     
  9. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
  10. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #10
    And hope this feature is not the "keyboard trackpad" feature accidentally enabled in iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus in iOS 9.0 developer beta 2, being removed in later beta.
     
  11. andyw715 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #11
    Is it actually the pressure sensitive pencil or just a long press?
     
  12. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #12
    It's the pressure input from the Pencil.
     
  13. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #13
    It actually uses the pressure sensor from the Pencil. Just like 3D Touch the background blurs as you're pressing in and the little pop up menu option for "clear all" fades in just like a Peek press.
     
  14. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #14
    This feature has been removed in developer beta 4/public beta 3.

    Either was never intended. Though that seems unlikely because they would have had to specifically code it to register the Pencil pressure and perform a 3D Touch function. So I don't think it could have just happened by accident to allow the function in beta 2-3.

    Or they are making tweaks to expand it to further areas, so it is temporarily taken out of this build. (Similar to how navigation was taken out in one of the iOS 9 betas when they were splitting up the code specifically for it instead of piggybacking off the touch code.)
     
  15. ps3zocker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #15
    The API for sensing pressure is the same for iPhone 6s and the Apple Pencil, so it could totally be an accident.
     
  16. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #16
    Are you sure about that? Because one is using pressure sensors in device, behind a screen and one is using an accessory. Seems to me that there would have to be specific code made to do x function from y source. 3D Touch isn't even enabled in iOS for non 3D Touch devices.

    Just seems pretty deliberate they had it enabled in one area and for two builds. As if they were testing things (Off in beta 1. On in beta 2 & 3. Off again in beta 4)
     

Share This Page