clear answer please...about apps.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by alexelie, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. alexelie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #1
    i know there are a lot of topic about that but i dont understand anything. i jailbreak my touch but now, how to install apps. i have the imobileapps folder and i know that i need an ftp prog client. i have filezilla. i also know that the user is root and password is alpine and port 22. but when i click on quick connect, it asks me for a host, i never read about that.what do i need to write for adresse(host)?also, what is SSH, SFTP, iPhuc... i need clear information please...

    thank you!
     
  2. DenniZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    i think i read somewhere that you shouldnt use filezilla.

    it was in one of the guides, not sure which one tho sorry.
     
  3. alexelie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #3
    ok then i will use putty. but can someone tell me how to connect to my ipod using putty.all i see when i start it is host name and other stuff.

    thank you
     
  4. TEKDUDE27 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #4
    ok when u use PuTTY type in your IPOD'S IP ADDRESS then hit OK

    Wait a few min. You will see a pop up just hit ok

    log in as: root
    password is: alpine
    (NOTE: when typing in the password you will NOT see anything this is on it is just as if you are typing in a password for email)
     
  5. parrotheadmjb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #5
    winscp is the best sftp

    host- ipod's ip address
    root/alpine for login and password
     
  6. alexelie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #6
    i did that in putty but then there is this sign #....wht do i write there?
     
  7. marcongj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #7
    what do you type in for this
     
  8. marcongj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
  9. alexelie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #12
    i finally put apps on my ipod but now it keeps freezing everytime i try to use them. i would like to know which program is good for logging into the ipod with a ssh client. i tried to connect with filezilla but it doesnt connect so i cant type this command:/bin/chmod -Rf +x /Applications/

    also anyone know where i could find other aplications like apolloim....

    thank you
     
  10. 864646 macrumors regular

    864646

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #13
    u should use winscp its like the easiest client to use for installin apps into ur touch and i think appoloim should be in the installer.app
     
  11. alexelie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #14
    please, just let me know what to do...the apps are on my ipod but they dont work.just give me a solution or stg to make it work.

    im working on windows.
     
  12. 864646 macrumors regular

    864646

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #15
    u mite want to start all over again like take the apps away first so we get a clean stage.... then get winscp
    also wat apps do u want???

    wen u get winscp enter the info like u would in putty (ip address/root/alpine...)
    then start ur session
    a white window shold pop up showin ur connection status
    it mite take a few tries if u dont get in
    wen ur in find ur apps on ur left side of the screen and drag them into ur applications folder on the rite side of the screen
    thats basicly it
     
  13. alexelie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #16
    ok i used winscp to transfer the apps and gmm.framework and other stuff but after i need a ssh client like putty to make my apps work. i need to write a certain command but im not able to connect into putty cause there is this sign # after i enter the user and password and i dont know what im suppose to write there.

    also where could i get appolo?
     
  14. 864646 macrumors regular

    864646

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #17
    r u puttin iphone apps in like mail and stuff???

    p.s appolo would be in the installer.app on ur ipod
     
  15. REBELinBLUE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Unless I'm missing something the # is the command prompt, it means you are done, you can start typing the commands.

    The command you need is "chmod -R a+x /Applications/*"

    As for Apollo, that is in the installer, but you might need to install the community sources (also in the installer).

    No offence, but people who have trouble with technical things like SSH, SFTP, the command line etc should really just wait for a GUI installer
     
  16. emb531 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #19
    that # sign means you are logged in and are at the root of the device. type the /bin/chmod -Rf a+x /Applications command in at that sign....hit enter, reboot ipod, you should have working apps.
     
  17. Bluee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
  18. alexelie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #21
    i tried to write this command but it says no such directory...
     
  19. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #22
    Go into settings, wait for WiFi to pop up, then click the blue arrow next to the access point your connecting to.
     
  20. marcongj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #23
    ok I have all the iphone apps on my touch but everytime I try to use one the thing freezes up any ideas? and thanks for the help everyone
     
  21. emb531 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #24
    alex use this command, and you have to put the slash before bin

    /bin/chmod -Rf a+x /Applications

    reboot after again
     
  22. alexelie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #25
    thank you but it doesnt work either...so whats left to do? i will try to restore my ipod and start over again with the long methode instead of the one click solution.
     

Share This Page