Clearing App Memory

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by aldo818, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. aldo818 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Location:
    South of France
    #1
    In General/Usuage you see how much memory an app uses.

    In my case the Facebook app uses 2.7GB by far the biggest app. When i uninstall it and re install the app it only uses 125 MB

    So my question is: Is there a way to clear this memory and not uninstall re install the app. Cause after the app runs smoother and faster.

    Thank You
     
  2. jojokwan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #2
    I used a desktop software produced by a Chinese company. It works fine for me.

    As far as I known, some third party apps have the system cleaning feature too. Usually system tuneup apps. They claim to tuneup your phone or something like that.
     
  3. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #3
    [​IMG]

    One of the new features in iOS 5 is the ability to let Developers remotely clean the app and its memory, but unfortunately the end user does not have this ability.
     
  4. aldo818 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Location:
    South of France
    #4
    Does anyone know a app in the appstore doing this?
     
  5. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #5
  6. aldo818 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Location:
    South of France
    #6
    I ve observed my iPhone several days it never happend to me as mentioned in the link.
    Also i m not an Dev so i don t have the option cleaning. After 1 week heavy use the facebook data got nearly to 4GB on the phone so only way to get rid of it is to delete the app and re install it to get back to 120 mb in use.
     
  7. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Do you have to be within wifi (ipad wifi, or ipod touch)
     
  8. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #8
    I don't know, I've never noticed this on any of my devices, I was just going by what others have experienced.

    I don't know if its done remotely or on a timed schedule.
     
  9. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #9
    You can also delete and reinstall Facebook, which has a bug. I'd suggest complaining to them, or to stop using the Facebook app.
     
  10. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #10
    Some people like to be always connected.
     

Share This Page