Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CoMoMacUser

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 28, 2012
I have a 365 subscription and recently installed office on my new Studio. For some reason, I can't clear reminders for a handful of Outlook messages. If it hit Mark Complete or Dismiss, nothing happens. If I delete the message, the reminder still appears. One message has three duplicate reminders, down from four the other day. If I clear the reminders on my two Windows machines, they still appear on the Mac.

With the vast majority of reminders, this is a not a problem. I just hit Mark Complete or Dismiss, and away they go.

What might be causing this, and how can I fix it? Is the problem in Outlook? I have a separate hosted Exchange subscription for email, so I'm wondering if the problem is there rather than in the Outlook app itself.

I would contact Microsoft for help, but I did that regarding a Teams problem and wound up having to fix it myself.

Thanks!

Attachments

• Teams.jpg
    Teams.jpg
    192 KB · Views: 415

CoMoMacUser

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 28, 2012
I still haven't found a solution. I wonder if I have to uninstall and reinstall Outlook.

CoMoMacUser

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 28, 2012
When I fired up the Studio this morning, Office did an update, and now those reminders are gone. Hopefully whatever they fixed stays fixed.

JBeez63

macrumors newbie
Jul 21, 2023
I had this same issue. I might have found the solution.
  • Go to Outlook Preferences
  • Notifications and Sounds
  • Second section relates to Event Reminders
    • Change "Event Reminder Style" from Outlook Built-In to macOS Notification Center
    • When the notification pops up, click Complete (or Dismiss)
So far, it isn't coming back. It does come back if I go back to Outlook Built-In, though...