Clearing up the Yellow Screen Misconceptions

Discussion in 'iPad' started by redman042, Mar 23, 2011.

1. redman042 macrumors 68020

Here's what I know about the yellow screen issue. First, everyone has a strong opinion but in my experience most people only know part of the story but they tell it as though it's the only answer, which is false. I would like to help clear this up once and for all. I'm not an expert but my opinions here are backed by my own experience and research online.

From my research, there are two types of yellow screen issues (bring up an all white screen on your iPad, such as a blank document or paint canvas, to tell which you have):

1. Glue that hasn't fully cured yet. This creates UNEVEN yellow tinting, ie. spots in certain places or areas along the edge that look yellow while the rest of the screen doesn't. Give it time and this will supposedly go away in a week or two.

2. A yellow tint across the entire screen that's completely even. Or put differently, it's a warmer color tone on the display. Try going to a desktop computer monitor and changing the Color Temperature setting to a warmer setting, and you'll get the same effect on your computer screen. It's not an "abnormal" look, it's just a different look. Some people prefer it. Supposedly it creates more natural looking photos. But white web pages look a bit off.

My understanding on issue #2 is that Apple sources LCD panels from two different suppliers and one supplier uses a warmer color balance (yellowish) and the other uses a cooler color balance (blueish). This happened on the iPad 1 and it seems to be happening on the 2 as well. These seem to be sold in batches, and people will report buying two devices and one is cool while the other is warm. Some people who buy warm ones will return it several times only to keep getting more warm ones. It all depends on where the shipments of each end up.