"Clippy" now allows you to copy and paste anything/anywhere

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nfl46, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #1
    They are working on the 1.0 release, which is when it is officially out of BETA.

    But, now you can copy and paste in and out of Safari, etc. Here's an example. I was on the cnn.com website and I copied some information from it.

    [​IMG]

    Then I pasted it in Notes.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
  3. Lexoticstylez02 macrumors 6502a

    Lexoticstylez02

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #3
    Yes, you would need to jailbreak. This should be in hacks.
     
  4. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #4
    Yes, you do have to jailbreak in order to get it.
     
  5. Four20 macrumors 6502a

    Four20

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
  6. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #6
    I was using hclipboard before, but this new update is amazing. I'm on clippy now.
     
  7. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
  8. fuzion11 macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #8
    Has anyone else noticed that when you copy something from a webpage and then try to copy something else it will make safari crash everytime?

    Or is this only happening to me??
     
  9. jimmy83 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  10. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #10
    No, only the .95-5 update. When 1.0 is released, thats when it won't be in beta anymore. The ones in Cydia now are betas.
     
  11. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #11
    Hold the .?123 button for 1~2seconds until the popup comes up, this has the new feature Cut, and has Copy, Paste and Stack.
    To copy the entire sms bubbles press the sms bubble you wish to copy for 2 seconds until the popup appears.
     
  12. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #12
    They said its still in "Beta" and they are still working out the bugs. They release updates VERY often, so i'm sure when 1.0 comes out, all of that will be taken care of.
     
  13. nfl46 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #13
    I'm stoked that I can finally copy and paste anything on my iPhone now.
     
  14. zachplaysguitar macrumors 6502

    zachplaysguitar

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #14
    Happening to me too. Hopefully they'll fix it in 1.0.
     
  15. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #15
    How is this new clippy function different from the one we get with hclipboard? Is there any difference?
     
  16. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #16
    well clippy is now tied into the OS rather than being a keyboard add-on...and it can copy already inputted text rather than just text being typed... that being said, I just disabled clippy because it was way too trigger-happy when scrolling through lists... you flick to scroll and it activates clippy. if they can sort that out, it would be perfect.
     
  17. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #17
    so how exactly do you copy straight from websites? Know snout thr123 button and Click holdig SMS bubbles to copy Those but not pre-entered text
     
  18. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #18
    Me too :(
     
  19. DMoney0023 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
  20. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #20
    Clippy no longer seems to be able to cut/copy text that is embedded in websites. (I upgraded tonight after having that functionality all day).

    Too bad, because it was working well for me. I'm sure it will be back- I've read it was a little too unstable as it was.

    Don't upgrade to the latest update if you want to keep that function for the next little while. However, I would guess that the latest beta build is more stable than the last.
     
  21. kate-willbury macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #21
    yep. this annoys the hell out of me
     

Share This Page