Clock is always wrong, irritating

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Dragoro, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. Dragoro macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #1
    Always like 4 mins fast. Any way to fix this?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Sure you aren't 4 minutes slow? :)

    What are you comparing it to?

    You can go into your General Settings and set up your date and time
    You can set it automatically or manually
     
  3. Dragoro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #3
    Comparing it just about any clock out there.


    I did. It got automatically 4 minutes fast.
     
  4. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #4
    Is there any reason why the iPad does not just update itself every so often via wifi from a time server like PC's and I guess Macs do?
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    I'm gonna go out on a limb and guess that is what this does

    [​IMG]
     
  6. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    Right, except the non-3G model does not have that option.
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    Ah, then it has to be set manually
    And if it is 4 minutes off... then it just needs to be changed?
     
  8. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #8
    Yeah, but it drifts.. a lot.

    They need to allow it to automatically reference an external clock, like they have for PCs for years.
     
  9. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    Right, it's a known issue that has yet to be fixed. Manually changing a clock is easy but the question is why do we have to do it 9 months after it was discovered.
     
  10. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #10
    Well, the obvious answer is that Apple purposely put in a bug to force everyone to buy a 3G model so they could make more $$ :)
     
  11. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #11
    It does seem bizarre that Apple, who publicly want to make the very best they can for their customers, and make things as easy as possible, would not put in a setting to sync automatically over any WiFi connection, as the whole point about an iPad is WiFi and Net connections.
     
  12. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    The iPad has been available for the better part of a year. Yet yours is the first report of this "bug." I have the 3G iPad so that I can't test this for myself. However, I would expect that the iPad would automatically log in via Wi-Fi and synchronize with Apple's time server. Before running around with your hair on fire screaming about how Apple has forgotten you now that it rich, I would check the Data & Time preferences pane [if it exists] to ensure that you have not disabled the iPad ability to connect to the time server.

    My 3G iPad does not have the 3G enabled. Yet, it keeps perfect time. Of course, it may be using GPS to keep the clock set. However, the way that people complain about every real and imagined Apple indiscretion, it is curious that you are the first to report this problem.
     
  13. brentsg, Jan 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2011

    brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #13
    1. I didn't report a "bug". It simply does not have this feature. Also, 3 posters have mentioned the deficiency in this thread alone.
    2. I didn't run around with my hair on fire and scream anything.
    3. You're trying to correct me based upon absolutely zero experience with the product that I mentioned having an issue with.

    I agree with your overall assessment though. It should be there and it's amazing that it's not.
     
  14. ad2435 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #14
    mine does the same thing and it is very annoying.

    even syncing doesnt fix it.
     
  15. bern1812 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #15
    My wifi iPad has the same problem. I reset it, and it starts drifting right away. Between my iPad being fast, and my Blackberry running slower than network time for some reason I never know exactly what time it is and it drives me crazy!
     
  16. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #16
    Funny isn't it. Even a $1 watch keeps better time :)
     
  17. harpy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #17
    Yeah I can confirm that my wifi iPad frequently drifts. My PC is synced to an atomic clock and I've had to reset the iPad a few times over the last year.
     
  18. Hydrocity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    #18
    My wifi iPad is 6 min ahead. I have not tried syncing yet, so i don't no if that fixes it
     
  19. eye macrumors 6502a

    eye

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit
  20. Xenc macrumors 6502a

    Xenc

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I've experienced this problem with my iPad 3G's clock. It's usually faster by a few minutes. The issue seems to have gone away after updating to the iOS 4.3 prerelease, which is promising.
     
  21. Set845 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  22. Eso macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #22
    My original iPhone that no longer has a SIM card will also not automatically set the time when it is connected to WiFi.
     
  23. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    Does it sync the time when you connect to your computer with iTunes?
     
  24. gforce216 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #24
    It's always a minute off when compared to my iPhone 4. Really, really annoying. I hope that the wifi model gets some sort of external syncing sometime in the future.
     
  25. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #25
    Tried this last night with mine. No it does not.

    I set my clock last night manually at around midnight, will see if I remember to check in a weeks time how much it's drifted. Im my case I think that will mean, fast
     

Share This Page