Clock needs reseting reguarly, Why is this?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by julianna1973, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. julianna1973 macrumors 6502

    julianna1973

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    We have Apple care thankfully but i just wondered if anyone else has had this problem?
     
  2. jbrenn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
  3. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #3
    Do you use Boot Camp to access Windows? If so, everytime you go into Windows, you go back to OS X your time could be messed up. The thing to do is set your OS X to access and correct time automatically. Then will check over Internet and set time on MBA everytime you boot to OS X.

    If this is not the case, I would guess a battery issue...???
     
  4. julianna1973 thread starter macrumors 6502

    julianna1973

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Hubby leaves laptop on until battery goes dead, so im guessing that is what will be causing it? although it doesnt seem to happen on my macbook!
     
  5. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #5
    You have a another battery on the logic board that keeps things like time set when the computer is off or otherwise not receiving power.

    It would be really odd for that battery to be dead already, they usually last 7-10 years. There maybe a problem with the connection to it. If the boot camp fix does not work I would take it into Apple and have them look at it, as you really should not have to worry about the logic board battery if your the original owner, those things last.
     
  6. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #6
    Could be very simple fix if that battery. I have never seen the battery on the MBA, but it has to be there. Would assume it is just slightly loose or just not making connection. I have replaced them on Dell laptops, and they are essentially a watch battery. Would definitely check iFixit.com to see if they show it in their photos of the MBA. Maybe they even have it for sale. But if you have AppleCare, just use that, should be a very simple fix.

    Best wishes with it.
     
  7. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #7
    Here a picture for you scottsdale from a service manual.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. julianna1973 thread starter macrumors 6502

    julianna1973

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    Ok problem still happens even after i click to change time automatically. I dont access windows or anything on the Mac Air. We have Apple care & i know we can take it to the genius bar but hubby doesnt want to have to send the laptop away so what are the chances of them being able to do something in store?
     
  9. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #9
    you wouldn't happen to be using little-snitch and have it inadvertently blocking OSX from checking the time server on apple?

    just a stab in the dark
     
  10. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #10
    I thought we had decided probably the little backup battery since your hubby was draining the main battery every time and that made a lot of sense???
     
  11. n0de macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #11
    Try doing a PRAM / SMC reset. That fixed the exact same issue for me a while back.

    Booting between bootcamp and OSX did seem to exacerbate the issue but now I only have to do this reset once every 6 months or so.
     
  12. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    I concur. Zap the PRAM.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

    Resetting PRAM and NVRAM

    Shut down the computer.

    Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command, Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.

    Turn on the computer.

    Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys. You must press this key combination before the gray screen appears.

    Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.

    Release the keys.

    Your computer's PRAM and the NVRAM are reset to the default values. The clock settings may be reset to a default date on some models.



    Oh and cleanse your MBA of that Windows 'infection' permanently ;)
     
  13. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Torontoland
    #13
    I had the exact same problem. I took it to a Genius Bar once. They did the pram/vram/whatever-ram reset.

    Still happened.

    Took it back. They replaced the logic board.

    Still happened.

    Took it back. They replaced the main battery.

    Problem solved.

    Then the microphone died. They replaced it.

    Anyway, take it to a genius bar. They'll fix it for you or replace it.
     
  14. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #14
    Or they'll misdiagnose the issue repeatedly, cracking it open so many times they cause additional unrelated problems aye ;)
     
  15. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #15
    I have 2 ibooks and a powerbook that have this same issue. They're last generation PPC, so not really old enough for the battery to die. Zapping the PRAM doesn't help either.

    It also creates wierd side effects e.g.

    - wi-fi passwords are forgotten
    - Finder will show the HDD having zero bytes free and capacity of zero bytes
    - the laptops will not open Time Capsule HDs (and probably won't open other external drives either)

    this is a pain as we use the old laptops mainly for watching movie files hosted on the Time Capsule HD and transferred via wifi.

    I'm reluctant to crack open these machines :(
     
  16. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #16
    Well, the OP said several posts ago that her hubby leaves the MBA on until the battery dies completely... so maybe main battery, maybe tiny battery for clock, could be logic board but probably tied to battery. First try should be PRAM, then move on to battery issue if doesn't correct.
     
  17. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Torontoland
    #17
    Yeah, that's probably why the microphone died. Or maybe they forgot to reconnect it when replacing the logic board. That said, it may have not actually worked to begin with.
     

Share This Page