Clone iPhone sim?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by CoryTV, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. CoryTV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    #1
    I know there are Sim cloners out there... I also know that the 'micro sim' is a regular sim in a smaller package, so theoretically that is possible.. But any theories on whether the iPad will take your iPhone's cloned SIM? I *might* be interested in the iPad [it's mostly a dissappointing larger iTouch to me] but I'll be damned if I'm going to pay AT&T even more money than my already-overpriced cell service.

    I'm not super-knowledgeable in the SIM world.. any theories?
     
  2. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #2
    No. You wouldn't be able to use both devices simultaneously, as only one copy of a phone number can be connected to the cellular network at a time. Also, AT&T will know you are doing it, in the same way they know if you use an iPhone without a data contract.
     
  3. CoryTV thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    #3
    I actually meant one-at-a time.. I would happily switch my SIM back and forth, but seeing as they're different form factors, that would not be possible.
     
  4. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #4
    even if it WERE possible, you would need the ipad data plan from ATT in order to have it activated. this isn't the same concept as putting a sim card from one phone to another phone.
     
  5. koollectablz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #5
    I don't see why it shouldn't be possible to cut your existing sim to size and pop in in the iPad and then just make yourself a template to keep in the iphone sim tray to put the cut to micro size sim back in.

    All it needs is some thin plastic and a nice sharp knife.
     
  6. CoryTV thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    #6
    This is not necessarily the case. SIM cards theoretically carry their own activation. That's why when you unlock an iPhone, you can just put in a TMO SIM and it "just works" That's a "theoretical" advantage of SIMs/GSM technology. Don't know how that works on other AT&T phones, or for DATA on AT&T, as I only switched to this god-awful provider for the iPhone.
     

Share This Page