Clone Startup Drive vs Setup Assistant

Discussion in 'macOS' started by De'Mello, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. De'Mello macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    #1
    I realised this is more of an OSX question so I have reposted here...

    Hello

    To save time, I would like to clone the startup disc, of my Mini 2014 (Yosemite) onto a Mini QC 2012, which I have resently bought...

    Does OS X install itself differently, depending on the hardware?

    Will cloning from Dual core to Quad core cause any issue with the installed apps too?
    Or should I use Setup Assistant?

    Thanks
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You can clone that right over and it will work fine. When the OS first boots on the new system it will detect the hardware changes and use the correct drivers all on its own.

    The only issue you may have is some apps have their registration tied to the machine hardware. So when you clone to a new machine some apps will see that and require reregistration. Adobe and MS Office apps are known for this.
     
  3. De'Mello thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007

Share This Page