Resolved Cloning a PPC Drive in an Intel Mac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by A.Goldberg, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. A.Goldberg, Mar 30, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2015

    A.Goldberg macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    A good idea? Long story short I need to clone a PPC drive onto another drive that will be used in a PPC.

    Can I clone the drive in my Mac Pro or would I be better off/safer doing it in my G5?

    Thanks
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    You should be fine in the Mac Pro-just make sure you partition the new drive as APM and not GUID.

    Carbon Copy Cloner will probably give you warnings about the cloned drive not being bootable, but you can "okay" through them and it should work fine
     
  3. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #3
    I've done so much cloning over the past few days to get my HP ready to sell... Anyway, I've done this with a few hard drives. If you want you could always TDM into the target computer and copy over your hard drive or use transfer assistant in setup to clone your disk.
     
  4. A.Goldberg thread starter macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Cool guys thanks!

    Since when do you have to buy CCC? That tells you the last time I cloned a Hard Drive!

    I know most people use CCC or SuperDuper. Any reason not to just use Disk Utility?
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    The older versions(which I don't think will run on your MacPro) supposedly have a 30 day "time bomb" but I've never actually seen it work. I think it's fallen far enough into the realm of abandonware that Bombich doesn't really care anymore.

    In any case, as far as I know the current version still has a 30-day free trial.
     
  6. A.Goldberg thread starter macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Oh nice. Thanks for the info. Any reason to use CCC over Disk Utility?
     
  7. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #7
    Just use disk utility and click restore...drag the drive you want to clone to "source" and drive you want to clone it to "destination" ....done!
     
  8. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    Intell has said that it's his preference(or at least a cloning program-I'm not sure if he said CCC in particular), and I tend to trust his preferences.
     
  9. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #9
    Some say CCC is more reliable than Disk Utility, but I've cloned drives several times successfully with this method.
     
  10. A.Goldberg thread starter macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    By chance I was digging around on external hard drive I used on my old 15" MacBook Pro (~4-6 years ago). I actually have a full copy of CCC 3.4 so I'll be using that. I hate trial software. Weird how things like that happen.

    Thanks for the advice guys.
     
  11. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #11
  12. A.Goldberg thread starter macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    PPC drive successfully cloned on an Intel Mac.

    Thanks Guys.
     
  13. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #13

    Woo!
     

Share This Page