Cloning BootCamp from old Mac to new Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sturob, Jan 21, 2014.

  1. sturob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    So is there a sound reason (maybe other than "having a clean install") why I might NOT want to use something like Winclone to clone my current BootCamp partition onto a new Mac, like an nMP?

    I have a very stable, clean, smooth Windows 8.1 installed on my rMBP. I have a new Mac Pro coming soonTM, would it really behoove me to clean install on the new computer? Couldn't I just clone it, try booting from the cloned BootCamp partition, and then update all the drivers and such and whatnot?

    Oh, you can say no. I just have a bunch of other stuff installed on my Windows 8.1 partition, and yeesh, eet pains me to theenk of having to do all that again. But I will. If I must.

    Stuart
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #2
    It would only work if Winclone modifies the Windows system to update drivers and services needed on the new system. And obviously only an "new Mini Pro"-aware version of Winclone could possibly know what to do.

    And you'll also face the fact that Windows may deactivate when it sees the radical change in hardware. ("Let's see: MAC address changed, NIC device type changed, CPU device type changed, number of cores changed, memory quantity changed, disk controller type changed, chipset type changed, PCIe topology changed, GPU type changed, number of GPUs changed.... Time to request re-activation.)
     
  3. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #3

    I've dropped windows 7 setups from computer to computer on PC's with some success, those that shared roughly the same chipset/architecture seemed to work but it will require re activation for apps. Though I don't think I would even attempt to do it with such a big jump from a haswell or ivy bridge system to a Xeon chipset. Used to be almost impossible with XP to do only when the driver model was changed with vista has it become feasible.

    Backing up and restoring the data is fine but you only really get a nice clean install of windows by setting it up nice and fresh with the associated hardware.
     
  4. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #4
    Hmm, the only thing I can think of is probably driver support as nMP might be running a unique bootcamp version made just for the nMP
     
  5. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    WinClone help files suggests using Window's "Sysprep" command to disable hardware specific drivers before transferring the Windows image to dissimilar hardware.

    http://twocanoes.com/winclone/help
    Using Sysprep ∞

    The key to a successful migration is using Sysprep, a built-in Windows utility, to generalize the operating system by removing hardware-specific device drivers on the source Windows installation. This process applies whether migrating Boot Camp or a real PC to a Mac.

    Instructions for using Sysprep to generalize the source Windows operating system can be found in the support document "Migrating a Boot Camp Partition with Winclone 4" and "Migrating a Real PC to Boot Camp with Winclone 4".
     
  6. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #6
    I'd be scared to transfer a working Windows setup to radically different machine just given my experience with Windows 98,2k, XP... but Win7 probably fixed this. I'll defer to others for whether or not it's better to reinstall.

    As far as activation. Can I mention Windows Loader? It's a freeware app that disables activation. It still allows updates and whatnot.
     
  7. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #7
    Sysprep was from Vista onwards, but yes earlier versions were a nightmare.

    Errm, technically that's an app that enables 'captain jack sparrow' and whatnot so best not post a link up in case you run foul of the law in this place! If it's a retail Win 7 key it should reactivate ok, an oem well that's a different story. Don't how much Microsoft will charge exactly to activate it and make it genuine. Phoning them and getting off the automated system and explaining the predicament they are in with a failed system they may even let the op off paying for one!
     

Share This Page