Cloning Filevault 2-encrypted SSD?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by pjny, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. pjny macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #1
    I have Carbon Copy Cloner 4 and Superduper.

    I want to install El Cap GM on my Macbook 12" early 2015 with SSD that is Filevault 2 encrypted.

    I want to clone my drive in case there are software conflicts with GM.

    How would I reinstall a cloned Filevault-2 drive if I want to go back to Yosemite?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    The fact that you have FV2 does not change the way CCC works. Once you are logged in the drive drive is mounted and unlocked, and behaves and clones normally.

    So just login and make your CCC clone. Then if you want to go back, option key boot to the clone and use Disk Utility to erase the internal drive then CCC clone from external to internal.
     
  3. pjny thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #3
    Hi, thanks. I am not making a bootable clone. Just a clone/disk image of the drive. Is the only way to reinstall the system by using a bootable clone on the external drive then reinstalling cloned copy?
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I'm not sure I understand the distinction you are making here? CCC by default clones the drive.
     
  5. pjny thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #5
    I know there is a difference between a bootable clone as well a regular clone/disk image of the drive.

    If I want to reinstall the disk image that CCC created how do I reinstall if I am wiping out the SSD when I install the disk image from CCC?
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I guess that is why I am confused what you are trying to accomplish. You can use CCC to make a disk image of the existing system then use CCC to restore that back, but to do that you would need to be booted from a third drive of some sort to perform this operation.

    That is what I am saying just do a straight CCC clone of the drive then you can boot to the external and erase then clone back very easily. This can be done with a disk image, but it seems to needlessly complicate the process.
     
  7. pjny thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #7
    OK. Is there a way to boot into the hidden recovery partition, run disk utility, then reinstall disk image using CCC cloned drive?

    I don't have a spare drive that I can devote to a 40 gb bootable drive for mac. most of the drives I have are 3-4tb.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Your Mac supports Internet recovery, so you should be able to command-option-r boot to recovery. Once you select your wifi you will see a spinning globe while the recovery utility downloads and installs. From there you should be able to use Disk Utility to erase the internal drive then in the restore tab restore the disk image to the internal.

    But again, I'm not following why you want to do this. A straight CCC clone that you can boot to and clone back only needs the amount of space on the current internal disk just like a disk image would. So if your internal is now using 40GB, just make say a 45GB partition on one of your external drives and CCC clone to that partition.
     
  9. pjny thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #9
    Thanks, Weaselboy. I really appreciate your guidance. I will follow your advice.
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    OP:
    If you have an external drive available, just use CCC (or SD) to create a fully-bootable backup clone of your internal drive.

    You WANT your backup to be "fully bootable".
    You WANT a way to "get back to where you once belonged" if things don't go as planned.

    Aside:
    Since you have an external drive available, you might try installing El Capitan onto the EXTERNAL drive first, for experimental purposes only.
    This way, you can get an idea as to whether it will work with your current apps, etc., without "taking the big leap".
    It -will- run slower because you are booting externally.
    If you like what you see, then it will be time to consider putting it onto your internal SSD.
     

Share This Page