Cloning HD's but without certain folders

Discussion in 'macOS' started by robcrouch, Aug 1, 2016.

  1. robcrouch macrumors member

    robcrouch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    #1
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Carbon Copy Cloner will do exactly what you want. Just uncheck folders you don't want copied.

    Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 10.32.28 AM.png
     
  3. robcrouch thread starter macrumors member

    robcrouch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    #3
    great, the only thing is, I did an
    great! the only thing is, i did an exact copy once with carbon copy cloner and for some reason it wasn't bootable when I tried it on another mac.... any reason why?


    Thanks

    Rob
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    You may have unchecked something critical like that System folder for example. That needs to be there to run the OS.

    Also, what model Macs and was OS X versions was this. For example, you would not be able to clone Yosemite to a drive then boot a 2015 iMac form it since Yosemite would not have the drivers.
     
  5. robcrouch thread starter macrumors member

    robcrouch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    #5
    No i did an exact clone (so didn't uncheck any files or folders) it was el capitan on a 2015 macbook pro. I then did the exact sae with super duper and it worked no problems.... which is why i was skeptical of CCC....
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Hmm... dunno. Lot's of forum members on here including me use CCC all the time and I have not seen any posts about them not being bootable. I can't think where you might have gone wrong.
     
  7. robcrouch thread starter macrumors member

    robcrouch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    #7
    ok thanks, ill give it another go now, fingers crossed....
     
  8. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #8
    OP: I'm curious why you are asking alternative software, you can exclude folders from SuperDuper by editing copy script after you have purchased SuperDuper?
     
  9. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #9
  10. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #10
    Also, Decimus Synk.

    If you find that deltas with Carbon Copy Cloner are unacceptably slow, then you may find that Synk is a little better.
     

Share This Page