Cloning my ENTIRE OS X (Yosemite) to RAID 0 Disk

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TheHerdForever, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. TheHerdForever macrumors member

    TheHerdForever

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #1
    After doing some research here and on Google about cloning my current OS X drive to a RAID 0 drive, I'm still lost. Can someone please advise me (using simple steps) that will allow me to copy my entire contents (including the hidden recovery Yosemite partition) to the new RAID 0 drive I have created on my Mac Pro 5,1 workstation? I tried to use the latest copy of CCC and for some reason, it didn't copy over the hidden Yosemite partition after cloning the RAID 0 drive. Thanks!
     
  2. Euphoria227 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #2
    A Recovery partition cannot be created on RAID volumes.
     
  3. TheHerdForever thread starter macrumors member

    TheHerdForever

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #3
    Yeap...that' what I found out. I also found something else out which stinks. You can NOT add another disk(s) to a RAID 0 set. Not good in my case. Have to do some work-arounds to use all 4 SSDs in my Mac Pro. o_O
     
  4. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #4
    Recovery does not need to be on the boot drive, recovery has never been supported on arrays, you always need a bootable backup anyway which you have and has recovery partition. No problems.
     
  5. dmylrea macrumors 68020

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #5
    Not sure if I understand the scenario, but I assume you have a current volume with your OSX and a new (empty) RAID 0 volume (setup with Apple Disk utility) that you want to clone to, then remove the original Yosemite volume and boot from the RAID 0?

    What I do is boot off a Yosemite bootable USB stick. Run Disk Utility from the install menu, and use the RESTORE function to clone the original Yosemite volume to the new RAID 0 volume. Once the clone is done, shut down, remove the original Yosemite drive, and boot holding the OPTION key and choose the new RAID 0 boot volume.

    Magic done. That's how I did mine when I had two Apricorn Velocity Solo X2 cards w/SSD's setup as a Apple RAID 0 volume, cloned from a SSD in one of the SATA bays.
     

Share This Page