Cloning to/from an MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bookmanjb, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. bookmanjb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    #1
    I work on a 2008 iMac, running 10.6.8. When traveling, I clone it onto an external SSD (using SuperDuper), which I boot up on my 2010 MacBook Pro. When I return, I clone the SSD back onto the iMac. This works great for me. But I would love to get an 11" MBA to use during my trips because of its size.

    I assume that one cannot clone an Air to an iMac and visa versa. Is that so? If not, great. If so, is there a strategy I could use to accomplish the same ends, short of laboriously and inefficiently copying new and modified files back and forth?
     
  2. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #2
    Is the target device you're cloning to of sufficient size to split it and create 2 clone images?
     
  3. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #3
    Have you considered other options? The 2013 MBA is probably as fast or faster than your 2010 MBP and definitely should be faster than the 2008 iMac. Why not get the 512gb MBA and an external monitor/keyboard for home, then get rid of the other old machines.

    Basically that's what I did. A 2013 11" i7/8gb/512gb MBA is my primary computer now and it sure runs circles around my 2008 15" MBP. :)
     
  4. mattferg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #4
    Buy a 2.5" SATA to USB3 enclosure for the SSD and boot right off it onto the MBA. As long as you're running the latest version of Mavericks on both you should be absolutely fine :) So update the iMac to 10.9.1 and the Air, and you're good to go.
     

Share This Page