Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ant2009

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 24, 2010
Hello,

I have just bought my first iPod Touch 4g White.

However, I am just wondering what is the correct way to close apps.

Normally, I open a app and then when I have finished I click the home key.

Just a few questions about this:
1) Is the app still running in the background if you click the home key?

2) Double clicking on the home key. Does this show you the most previous app that was used? Or does it show all the apps running in the background?

3) After double clicking, and press and holding an app. I click the minus sign to close the app. Is this the same as question 1. It closes the app?

4) Does all these apps running in the background take up battery power.

Many thanks for answering the above questions. But this is my first time with an iPod.

Small White Car

macrumors G4
Aug 29, 2006
Washington DC
In general, pressing home closes the app. That's all you need to do.

- - - -

There, that's the basic rule. Now here are the exceptions:

1) Some things run in the background because you WANT them to. Your mail keeps checking mail. Your iPod keeps playing music. Skype stays ready in case someone calls you.

Yes, those are running, but you WANT them to be running. In most cases it's not the whole app that's running anyway, but a background process that's separate from the app. So Skype the app is not running. Skype the "notification API" is running.

These are good things and you shouldn't worry about them.

2) Most apps stay in RAM even when they're closed. This is not a problem because it helps them launch faster the next time. If your phone needs more RAM it will clear the memory from the oldest one in storage.

This is a good thing and you shouldn't'worry about it.