Cloud (Music) Question: iCloud? Amazon? Dropbox? Gulp..Help?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Blank00, Oct 16, 2014.

1. Blank00, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

Blank00 macrumors newbie

Hi all!
    So I'm a bit new to the cloud game and am getting quite confused with the services provided by all these companies, and the actual services I need. Let me explain my situation.

I have a few old iPods and HDDs filled with my music collected over the years. Quite a few of them are from CDs, given to me by friends, etc. I want to load them in the cloud and delete them from my computer and store them in my HDD to be stored somewhere else. Essentially not connected to my computer.

I tend to pick the songs I like and change the ID3 tag with iTunes to place them in folders organized by genre or types. Or in other cases I change the Album titles and what not for certain multi-disc releases. I don't use the compilation option in iTunes, as I dislike having a huge list of artists with only 1 song. In the song title I have the artist(s) listed. I also have a fair bit of Japanese songs as well.

Instead, my weird organization method goes something like this:
    [Artist] ---> [Album] ---> [Song]
    ie
    [Faster Songs] ---> [0-A/B-F/etc] ---> [Song Title (Artist)]

A lot of my songs are listed like that. If I want to listen to something, I always look it up by artist, I hardly use the Album option (On my iPod/iPhone/Mac).

My question is, what Cloud storage would work with my situation? I noticed iTunes Match and such match my songs and allows me to access the ones they match, while supposedly uploading ones that aren't matched. What about the ones with the custom/messed up ID3/metadata I made?