Cloud on unlocked iPhone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by raymanster, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. raymanster macrumors 6502

    raymanster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    Has anyone here with an unlocked iPhone subscribed to the Cloud (£6.99/mth single device access) and are using it successfully?

    I subscribed yesterday, found a hotspot and keep getting authentication errors when logging in. Still waiting for their customer service to get back to me, but thought I'd post here to see if anyone has this working ok and if so is there anything special I need to do?
     
  2. spriter macrumors 65816

    spriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #2
    Can't help you but I've considered this yet didn't know if it'd work or not. I'm interested to see how you go on.
     
  3. adamsweeting macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #3
    So you have to log in???

    I thought the whole point of using The Cloud was that they have MAC filtering... when you signed up didn't you have to put your MAC address in?

    I would have gone for the iPod touch option.
     
  4. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    doubt it will work as it will use the "valid" mac addresses of the "legit" (on legit iPhone contract) iPhones..
     
  5. adamsweeting macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #5
    Yeah... if you've got a legit phone... but then you get The Cloud as part of the tariff.

    If you sign up for a paid service, then it asks you to enter your MAC address
     
  6. raymanster thread starter macrumors 6502

    raymanster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Just to let you all know this now works, you can subscribe and use Cloud seperately on an unlocked iPhone.

    Cloud Support said there was some issue with authentication of the username and password on their end, that's why it didn't work first time round.
     
  7. adamsweeting macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #7
    Did you have to enter your MAC address when you signed up?
     
  8. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #8
    I've got a legit iPhone in London, but I have yet to find a Cloud hotspot.
     
  9. Pennine macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Glossop UK
    #9
    Check out their web site should tell you where they are
    I live in the sticks and theres one 100 yards down the road in my local
    they are all over
     
  10. raymanster thread starter macrumors 6502

    raymanster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Yes I did although if you sign up for the 9.99/mth plan you don't have to give your MAC address.
     
  11. h-man75 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #11
    is there a minimum term of contract for uk cloud subscriptions?
     
  12. raymanster thread starter macrumors 6502

    raymanster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Yes it's 12 months.
     

Share This Page