Cloud

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nicholas-baker, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. nicholas-baker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #1
    Quick question for you experts - i was in the local pub last night and connected via clud for the first time - does it cost anything to use? and what exactly is it? very impressed with the speed when connected...
     
  2. VibrantGravy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    London, N1
    #2
  3. nicholas-baker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
  4. yegon macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #4
    Will I need any passwords or usernames to use Cloud/BT Open Zones? Or is it automatic? Cheers.

    (On £35 O2 tariff).
     
  5. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    you enter your phone number
    then the cloud registers your mac address to that phone number

    it will work until you put your sim in another phone
     
  6. Squires macrumors regular

    Squires

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  7. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #7
    it does, but its not free.. you have to pay £3.99/month to access The Cloud hotspots
     
  8. Squires macrumors regular

    Squires

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  9. yegon macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #9
    Thanks. There's loads of places I visit extensively for work where these hotspots are available. I've had a Touch since launch with which I regularly searched, usually in vain :(, for unsecured wifi. BTOpenzone's were all over the place, ace.
     
  10. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #10
    Hardly!

    But yes, for paid up UK O2 iPhone users, there are 7500 or more Cloud Wifi hotspots that are free to use all over the place. Couple that with the BT openzones hotspots that were recently added to that (Im not sure how many of those there are) and you have great coverage and you will never find yourself too far away from one. Certainly goes a long way to making up for the lack of 3G if you have a mk1 iPhone.
     

Share This Page