clueless apple store employees

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gowanis, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. gowanis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #1
    went to the apple store today just to mess with the 3G phone (i have no intention of upgrading for a while). i wanted to do a side by side Edge vs. 3G comparison when i remembered that there's probably still no 3G coverage where the store is located. i figured i'd just ask about 3G coverage in the area just to see what the employees would say. Three different employees had no clue. One had to ask another. This is a simple, basic thing that all store employees should know. Either they are just clueless fools or are told to act dumb to hide the fact that there is no coverage in the area.
     
  2. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #2
    Probably to hide the fact of minimal 3G coverage. I would hope they are that uneducated.
     
  3. jdcrow711 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    DC
    #3
    my personal iphone salesperson informed me the rocker switch on the side (silent/ringer) was the airplane mode switch....

    brilliant young man.
     
  4. markgamber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Redneck, PA
    #4
    I had the opposite experience. The AT&T map shows no 3G anywhere near here but the guy at the store said he was sure they did because it turns out he lives up the street from me and he has it at home and a nearby theater. He was a very nice guy, informative, straightforward with costs and everything, nothing like the scumbags that work at the mall store. So I walked out with the phone, got home and sure enough, 3G. It's not very fast yet but it is here. He also managed to activate it in the store while, apparently, no one else could. Considering what I've gotten used to over the past few years at Sprint and T-Mobile, I was very impressed.
     
  5. Aiphanes macrumors regular

    Aiphanes

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    South Texas
    #5
    Its great to live in San Antonio...where the whole county where San Antonio resides in (Bexar County) is in ATT 3G..
     
  6. woodekm macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #6
    Thats AWSOME !! ! ! :D

    I actually NEED that function because I like to turn my phone "OFF" alot. Seriously.

    They call it a "silent/ring" switch. Now if it would only really be a no/ring switch, instead of an actual vibrate/ring, I'd be thrilled.

    Their vibrate really isn't silent by ANY means. I can hear it across the room at my house, and everybody can hear it while Im in meetings, when at work. Vibrate seems to be a soft ring.
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    Why did you even have to ask an employee? If you look at the iPhones on the display table and they say '3G' at the top of the screen (next to 'AT&T'), then there's 3G coverage, at least in the store.

    The stores have never had any coverage information, other than to point the customer asking to the AT&T website.

    If you go into Settings > Sounds and at the top of the screen, turn that Vibrate to off, it shouldn't vibrate when in Silent mode.
     
  8. michaelmaxwell2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #8
    You must understand that they sell apple products not att wireless service. They are only train to know F.A.Q and also probably the plan pricing not anything else.
     

Share This Page