Clueless on how to use DVD footage to make a music video with iMovie

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Khryz, Aug 10, 2007.

1. Khryz macrumors 6502a

Okay, so here's the deal. I just bought this middle-level white Macbook close to 2 weeks ago and I'm still learning. On my PC, I used to like taking footage from movies or whatever and editing the clips so I can make a music video with Windows Movie Maker.

From what I see iMovie is the same thing but the problem is getting the footage to make the video. Instead of downloading a movie illegally and cutting it up to make a video, isn't there a possibility of using a DVD you have at home to upload it somehow so that I can use it's scenes to make a movie? Is that possible?

So basically I'm asking how to get DVD content onto the computer so I can use that through iMovie. I'm new to macs, and not computer savvy at all so not sure if you have to download or buy a program, or if there's a process - either way I would appreciate it if someone could point me in the direction. Thank you!!!

2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

uh... that's still illegal.

it doesn't matter if you download it or rip it off of a disc, you are still stealing the footage.

3. Khryz thread starter macrumors 6502a

But I paid for it .. ? So any edited music video on youtube is illegal? I'm doing it for fun not for any gain.

4. VoodooDaddy macrumors 65816

To rip a dvd use mactheripper. How to get it into imovie after that I couldnt tell you cause I dont know.

5. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

you bought a disc, yes. but you don't own the footage on it... you can't use somebody else's footage to make your video unless you have permission. don't be another vanilla ice.

6. -DH macrumors 65816