cMBP 2012 15" No display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Beachguy, Nov 28, 2016.

  1. Beachguy macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #1
    I've been fighting to get my MBP back up and running again. Good news is I have a temporary drive in it and it seems happy. EXCEPT... The display in the clamshell (which I will be replacing anyway) is not coming on- I have to use an external display. It doesn't even seem to be acknowledge by macOS (10.12.2 beta) so I can't even try to force it.

    I thought perhaps the display had died, but when I was trying to reinstall OS X initially (10.7.6) it came on once, but when I had to reboot, it disappeared again. It works fine with an external display.

    I've reset the SMC and the PRAM but it didn't matter.

    I am thinking some wiring, perhaps, has become loose or broken? Any ideas?
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    If you download gfxCardStatus and force iGPU/dGPU, does that affect whether or not the internal display comes on or not? May be worth trying a combination of the two with PRAM resets throughout: Download gfxCardStatus v2.3
     
  3. Beachguy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    It didn't seem to enjoy the experience:

    p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 11.0px Menlo; color: #000000; background-color: #ffffff} span.s1 {font-variant-ligatures: no-common-ligatures} span.Apple-tab-span {white-space:pre}

    /Applications/gfxCardStatus.app/Contents/MacOS/gfxCardStatus ; exit;

    dyld: Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Frameworks/ReactiveCocoa.framework/ReactiveCocoa

    Referenced from: /Applications/gfxCardStatus.app/Contents/MacOS/gfxCardStatus

    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:

    /Applications/gfxCardStatus.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/ReactiveCocoa.framework/ReactiveCocoa: file too short

    /Applications/gfxCardStatus.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/ReactiveCocoa.framework/ReactiveCocoa: file too short

    Abort trap: 6

    logout

    Saving session...

    ...copying shared history...

    ...saving history...truncating history files...

    ...completed.

    Deleting expired sessions...none found.

    -----------------
    This has happened on a couple of unrelated apps today. I suspect I have found a bug in macOS in this beta.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 28, 2016 ---
    That said, the "About this Mac" windows shows it as being the NVidia 650m.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 28, 2016 ---
    ...aaaaaaaand...


    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M:



    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M

    Type: GPU

    Bus: PCIe

    PCIe Lane Width: x8

    VRAM (Total): 1024 MB

    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)

    Device ID: 0x0fd5

    Revision ID: 0x00a2

    ROM Revision: 3682

    Automatic Graphics Switching: Supported

    gMux Version: 1.9.23

    Metal: Supported

    Displays:

    Acer X223W:

    Resolution: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz

    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)

    Display Serial Number: LDX0D0118512

    Main Display: Yes

    Mirror: Off

    Online: Yes

    Rotation: Supported

    Automatically Adjust Brightness: No

    ...versus (in the "About this Mac" displays tab)...



    Intel HD Graphics 4000:



    Chipset Model: Intel HD Graphics 4000

    Type: GPU

    Bus: Built-In

    VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 1536 MB

    Vendor: Intel (0x8086)

    Device ID: 0x0166

    Revision ID: 0x0009

    Automatic Graphics Switching: Supported

    gMux Version: 1.9.23

    Metal: Supported
     
  4. Beachguy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Still no progress. I'm getting the feeling there is a broken wire, perhaps?
     
  5. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #5
    If it is the display cable, I believe that's not something that can be easily replaced on its own, as it's soldered onto the display. Bad cable = replacing the whole display, which isn't a big deal in this case as it appears to be something that you were planning to do anyway.
     
  6. Beachguy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Yes, it is a necessity. Apparently, even more so now. The glass is cracked a lot from a vandal as it is. I'm using it as a desktop for now.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    I was just going to suggest having your MBPro checked at an Apple store to see if you come under this repair program
    http://www.apple.com/support/macbookpro-videoissues/

    But, if the display glass is cracked, seems that might be more the issue than an equipment failure.
    HOWEVER - it wouldn't hurt to ask. The Apple tech would run a simple diagnostic test on the display card.
     
  8. Beachguy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #8
    The system is just fine electrically. The display just crapped out suddenly.

    I'll worry more once it is replaced, but even with the messy glass, it was usable.
     

Share This Page