cMBP vs rMBP pricing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Upasaka, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. Upasaka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #1
    I just noticed that similar configured 15-inch cMBP is more expansive than rMBP.

    15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display ($2,799.00)
    • 2.6GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    • 8GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
    • 512GB Flash Storage

    15-inch MacBook Pro ($3,199.00)
    • 2.6GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    • 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
    • 512GB Solid State Drive
    • SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    • MacBook Pro 15-inch Hi-Res Antiglare Widescreen Display

    Could you explain me the reason please? Thanks!
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
  3. Upasaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
  4. Rhinoevans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
    That is Apple rippoff.

    Configure yourself and save cash

    $1799 + 16G ($100) + 256 SSD ($155) = $2054

    16G rMBP = $2400
     
  5. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    Both the configs above have a 512GB SSD. A third party SSD right now is between $400-$500. That means you would only save about $200, which is not major since already spending thousands on a computer.
     
  6. Upasaka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #6
    Will the hard drive replacement void the warranty then?
     
  7. smooth0906 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #7
    Save About 200.00

    Hey; 200.00 is a lot of money even if you are spending thousands. You can apply that money to mac accessories or other upgrades to your laptop.
     
  8. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #8
    Yes. And it's hilarious when people around here tell you to upgrade "sealed" machines yourself around here.

    Free advice is worth every penny. :D
     
  9. Vampire5003 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    ?

    I am totally confused by your post.....

    To OP: I just purchased a 13" CMBP and upgraded the HD to 128GB SSD and the RAM to 8GB. If I ever have any problems, I'll just put the stock hard drive back in the MBP and the stock RAM back in. As far as like a warranty sticker, I don't think there is a warranty stick that says you will void if you open the laptop.


    Thomas
     
  10. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #10
    Replacing the hard drive (or RAM) in the cMBP does not void the warranty.

    Replacing the hard drive in the rMBP does void the warranty, as Apple has said there are no user-serviceable parts inside it.
     
  11. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    It will void the warranty on a rMBP, not the cMBP.
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    No, it will not void the warranty, unless you damage something in the process.
    That's not true. You can replace the hard drive and the RAM without voiding the warranty.
    Except there is no hard drive in the rMBP to replace.
     
  13. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #13
    Fine, changing the mass storage device in a rMBP voids the warranty on it. In legal terms, describing it as a "hard drive" is the correct term to use.
     
  14. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #14
    Modifying the retina version will indeed void the warranty. My post was in reply to a suggestion that the OP do this.

    This is what happens when both cMBP and rMBP are discussed in the same thread.
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    The reference was to replacing the HDD, which only the cMBP has, with an aftermarket SSD to match the specs of the rMBP. You can't replace the flash memory of the rMBP, because there's not yet anything to replace it with.
     
  16. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #16
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
  18. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #18
    This. x100 on all Apple stuff. Never had a problem with warranty on 100's of Mac's and I change a crap ton of things. Keep the old and make it stock when you get work done. How hard is that?
     

Share This Page