CMD + Shift + 4 - Partial screenshot feature on iPad possible?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by docc, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. docc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #1
    Hi,

    Is there anyway I can take a partial screenshot on an iPad like with the Mac? Natively, I'm not able to find anything so I was wondering if there is an app that has similar functionality.

    I read a lot of pdf's on my iPad and taking partial screenshots of diagrams and tables is extremely useful for quick reference later on. I can take a full page screenshot but that isn't a very efficient alternative.
     
  2. Mernak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    #2
    I would suggest doing a full page screenshot, and then going into Photos, clicking Edit, and then you can crop the image down the the relevant part there
     
  3. docc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    That's what I'm currently doing but that's too many steps for a very simple thing like a screenshot.

    There was a very handy feature called scrapbooker on Samsung that worked brilliantly.
     
  4. Mernak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    #4
    You probably won't be able to get anything on iOS similar unless you jailbreak your phone, Android apps are less constrained in what permissions they can have, whereas iOS won't let you do stuff like screen capture other applications or the home screen.
     
  5. docc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #5
    Since its available on OS X I was hoping it should be easy to port since the iPads have keyboard support.
     
  6. ForkHandles macrumors regular

    ForkHandles

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    #6
    There's an app for that on the App Store called skitch. The key press combinations are all online for partial screen grabs, my experience is that you need to use all five fingers on the left hand to get the right combination of fn, cmd, alt, shift and Esc

    Oops sorry thought you said Mac!
     
  7. rigormortis, Apr 30, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #7
    Android forces every single permission on you. If you want Facebook then you have to live with 21 separate things being enabled. Some of us don't want our phone books being sent to Facebook.


    I borrowed a s6 edge and I was not allowed to disable Netflix over cellular. All I could do is limit its background activity. So much for being less constrained

    The android experience was bizarre. The phone company some how prevented me from disabling Individual apps from using my cellular connection, but if I ran hotspot in the background while watching a movie, I got a pop up every minute to remind me the hotspot was still on and I had to click on ok , so I could go back to my tv show.

    But the best less constraining feature by far is tie between seeing advertisements on my lock and home screens and voice mail versus being warned not to check the weather more then every 6 hours or you might get a charge on your phone bill. At least with the Amazon kindle I can save or pay $20 and have a choice if I want ads.

    Yeah. We won't let you save money and turn off cellular data for individual apps, just stop checking to see if it's raining. ,ok ?!?!?!?!?

    Your screen capture claim is false. You can capture the screen on anything.. The only time where your not allowed to save the screen is if you use QuickTime externally to record Netflix

    image.jpeg
     

Share This Page