Cmd+Tab & Dock app switching issue on 10.11.1

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Oh-es-Ten, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. Oh-es-Ten macrumors regular

    Oh-es-Ten

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Can anyone tell me if they are having this issue? Very annoying issue that just popped up for me in 10.11.1

    I have copied and pasted this from a bug report I just submitted today -

    When using Cmd+Tab or the Dock to switch between apps (non-fullscreen):
    If apps are in the same desktop this works correctly.

    When using Cmd+Tab or the Dock switch from app (non-fullscreen):
    If apps are in different desktop, this does not work correctly. The menubar changes to the new app (the menu bar changes in the current desktop), however the app itself is NOT brought to the foreground as the desktop is not switched. Any keyboard shortcuts performed here with the menu bar selected are not honoured in the app, and get alert tone.

    When using Cmd+Tab or the Dock to switch apps (full-screen):
    If changing between two fullscreen apps, focus works perfectly.
    If changing from a full-screen app to non-fullscreen app, this does change desktop as expected and the menu bar for the app is visible however the same issue occurs - no app focus (with cursor etc).

    NOTE: When using Mission Control (four finger swipe) or via a hot corner, the correct app focus works all the time - this issue is only isolated to Cmd+Tab or app switching via the Dock.
     
  2. dsemf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    #2
    I tried your various scenarios and everything worked as it should. My setup is a MBA without an external monitor. If you have multiple monitors, that might be a source of your problems.

    DS
     
  3. Oh-es-Ten thread starter macrumors regular

    Oh-es-Ten

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thanks DS. Due to the lack of responses I feel like I am on my own with this one.. which is frustrating as engineering will struggle to reproduce this bug I think.

    No multiple monitors for me either.
     
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    I can reproduce this by unchecking When switching to an open application, switch to a Space with open windows for the application in System Preferences > Mission Control. Make sure this setting is not disabled.
     
  5. Oh-es-Ten thread starter macrumors regular

    Oh-es-Ten

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #5
    redheeler you genius! I didn't even check this pref (as it was already checked pre 10.11.1), looks like the update unchecked that. Issue totally fixed by changing that back - thanks! Closing bug report for that one.
     

Share This Page