cMP 4,1 how to OS X 10.6

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by adam9c1, Mar 20, 2015.

  1. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #1
    I have a specific need to run OS X 10.6.(whatever lets say 8) and it would be done very seldom.

    How can I install OS X 10.6 on a cMP 4,1

    I can install 10.6.0 on another machine and update to 10.6.8 but I know in the past it was not advisable as the build would not have all of the drivers.

    I have a Macbook 5,2 that will take 10.6.0

    Basically I want to have an external drive that will have OS and the old much more configurable Airport Utility (I don't have a new Airport Extreme)
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    This may still work under Yosemite (I haven't tried it) and is bound to be easier than setting up an entirely separate OS install.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    To install 10.6, you should have the installation DVD. From memory, you can just boot from the disk, and then install the OSX from there. You may install the 10.6 to another partition, so it won't affect your current OS.
     
  4. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    It would be installed on a small single purpose USB drive.

    I was under impression cMP 4,1 required 10.6.4 from the gray discs set (which I do not have as I'm not original owner).
    I do have a 10.6 (plain first release) installer on DVD and USB.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    The original OSX for the 4,1 (the grey discs) is 10.5.
     
  6. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #6
    nope. MacPro5,1 needs 10.6.4 to boot/install. MacPro4,1 should start with a 10.6 retail disc.

    ----------

    10.5.6 :p
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    I have a 10.6 retail DVD and can be installed in my 4,1 classic Mac Pro. Via bootable USB thumb drive also works.
     
  8. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  9. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #9
    Usually the deciding factor is what if any GPU it now has.

    A VM may meet your needs as well.
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    Exactly. There were 2009s sold with 4870 which were shipped with 10.5.6 (I had one and I still have original discs - became worthless after update to 5,1).
    So OP can install 10.6 on another machine then upgrade it to 10.6.8 and run it on a 4,1 without issues as long as current GPU in 4,1 is supported by SL.
     
  11. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #11
    When did Apple convert to single OS with all drivers built in?

    I know in the past you had to install OS on newer hardware if you wanted to use with older hardware, but not the other way around.

    By the way my graphics card is GT120
     
  12. 666sheep, Mar 21, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015

    666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    If I'm not mistaken that was about 10.4. Combo updates contain drivers for all supported hardware. Clean install of 10.4 on iBook/PowerBook sometimes caused non-functional trackpad. After applying 10.4.11 combo trackpad was always coming back to life. Same story is with 10.6 and GT120 5770. You need at least 10.6.4 (there was no retail disc at the times, last one was 10.6.3) for GT120 5770, but if you'll install 10.6 with another card (like 8800 or 4870) or on another machine which has GPU supported by 10.6 then update it to 10.6.8 using combo, you'll get fully functional OS with all needed drivers.
     
  13. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #13
    are you sure about this? MacPro4,1 was delivered with the GT 120 and 10.5.6 initially. AFAIK 10.6 retail shouldn't be a problem...
     
  14. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #14
    Holy **** mike, you're right :eek: 10.6.4 was requirement for 5770. One beer too much I guess :eek:
     
  15. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
  16. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #16
    Btw, I was able to install 10.6.0 retail on my 4,1 with a 5770 installed with no problem. Some of the 3D effects in OS X weren't working (i.e. the menu bar was opaque instead of translucent) but the OS ran. I installed the combo updater and it worked fine. IIRC, I was even able to install 10.5.6 on my system with that 5770 but had the same 3D effects issue.
     
  17. mif macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    home
    #17
    Same difference.
     
  18. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #18
    OS X has always been a unified operating system, with all drivers included. However, if you have a computer released after the version of operating system you have, the hardware, in most cases, isn't supported. In those cases, the computer may include a special build of OS X (right now, this is the situation with the 2015 laptops, which include a special build of 10.10.2.) Generally, you can even run this special build of OS X on other computers which support 10.10.2. There are some exceptions to this, but it's never a matter of the OS not having all the drivers for already-released computers.
     

Share This Page