CMP: 4k @ 60HZ What actually works?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jon King, Mar 15, 2015.

  1. Jon King macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    KY
    #1
    Hello,

    I've been struggling to get 4k working at 60HZ on my cMP. I've tried a 780TI that I purchased from MacVideoCards and now a stock R290X and can't seem to get anything over 30HZ with my Dell UP3214Q Monitor (A02). Has anyone successfully gotten this working? I've read a number of threads and can't seem to find any decisive answer.

    Thanks!
    Jon
     
  2. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
  3. MacMutsch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #3
    Hi Jon,
    I'm using the UP3214Q with my (flashed) AMD R9 280X in my cMP 5,1 with 60 Hz in native and all HiDPI resolutions (as many others as well) - sorry for my stupid question but have you enabled the "Display Port 1.2" (OSD -> Menu -> Display Settings -> Display Port 1.2) on your Dell?
     
  4. Jon King thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    KY
    #4
    Thanks for responding!

    I do have display port 1.2 enabled on the display. I actually just had Dell swap me out for the A02 firmware revision on the monitor, and I've tried 3 different 1.2 compliant cables. What version of OS X are you running?

    Cheers,
    Jon
     
  5. MacMutsch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #5
    Hi Jon,
    first of all I have to apologize!
    You were right, I was WRONG…
    When I got 60 Hz with the UP3214Q I was using my nMP, not the cMO :O/

    With the nMP it’s of course no problem to use both my 3214Q (UHD) as well as the LG 31MU97 (4K) with 60 Hz (in order to get 60 Hz instead of 50 Hz with the LG 10.10.3 is necessary).

    As 60 Hz are no problem with the D500 (which as far as I know is even less powerful than our R9 280X) the problem must be software based (as usual…) – which I confirmed when I used Bootcamp / Windows 7 on the cMP + R9 and was able to use the Dell with 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz right away…

    Please let me know if you find out anything new – of course I would prefer 60 Hz on the cMP/R9 with OS X as well.

    Regards

    Thorsten / MacMutsch
     

    Attached Files:

  6. teeck2000, Mar 18, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2015

    teeck2000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #6
    I have tried a few 4k monitors on the cMP with the GTX 680 and 980.

    If the 4k monitor is running SST 60hz then it works all the way back to 10.8.5 even. If the monitor is running MST for 60hz then you need 10.10.0 -10.10.1 and a extension hack with specific nvidia web drivers...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1760435
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    teeck2000, did you see my latest post in that thread?

    found it working again in 10.10.2 with 343.02.02f03

    curious if it works for you
     
  8. teeck2000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #8
    No just saw it, thanks for testing that, sounds good. The SST to MST switch is annoying though, but I might update since I'm stuck at 10.10.0 at the moment.
     

Share This Page