cMP 5.1 Install Win7/10 on PCIe M2 SSd or SATA3 Pcie card HELP!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by smgfreak, Feb 4, 2016.

  1. smgfreak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Looking for help,

    trying to Install Windows 7 / 10 onto a Samsung850pro SSD plugged in SATA600 PCIe Card !(sonnet Tempo ssd )

    I did install no Problem via the Original SATA300 Ports with AHCI Enbaler , but i need some more speed in Windows !

    i did clone the Windows install with AHCI from the Original Install on to the SSD that is pluged in to the SATa600 PCIE card, but of course it wont boot.
     
  2. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    I can't get this to work either. Through the MBR patch I believe I've made my drive run faster, but I could never get it to boot from my Sonnet Tempo or an Acorn 2x Duo.

    With M.2 there's probably even less chance of getting it working. Hopefully you ordered an AHCI model and have an adapter. But even then getting it to work won't be easy.

    There are loads of guides here but I couldn't get a positive result from them, and some are rather out of date now.
     
  3. smgfreak thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #3

    I do have the M.2 Samsung PM951 ACHI Version. but i use it for the Mac OS , not Windows !
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Check your manual again. Tempo SSD NEVER able to boot Windows in a Mac Pro. It can only boot Windows from a PC.

    The 2 sections about OSX and Windows under "booting from attached SSD" are 2 individual sections. The Windows section never mention that you can boot Windows from a Mac Pro.
     
  5. smgfreak thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    yes i know, because the AHCI Patch ist for Intel Controller not for the AHCI Controller on the Sonnet ! still there would be a chance if i mod the AHCI patch to patch the Sonnet Controller instead of the Intel one
     

Share This Page