cMP 5.1 lack of encoder chip

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JMVB, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. JMVB macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #1
    I use my cMP as a live video switcher

    As many of us (force) discover, our machines doesn't have an H264 encoder chip, so, all this related tasks are performed by the processor.

    Some people found in the Matrox HDcompress card the solution for this issue.

    In my case, with the ****** matrox support, it is probably that my OSX and software doesn't have it.
    And, I have not free pci slots.

    It is there some other reliable solution? a consumer i7 processor will do the job?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    AFAIK, there is no way to add Quicksync support in cMP.
     
  3. TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Sure? And if you install a i7 980X inside a cMP? Does the 980X support Quicksync?
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    No
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    QuickSync only exist on the CPU that has iGPU.
     
  6. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #6
    Oddly I tested h.264 encoding on this forum a year ago. On the same cMP, Media Encoder was 4x faster under Windows than it is on macOS. So if you want a boost just switch OS.
     

Share This Page