Resolved cMP 5.1 PSU might be dead

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Reclzz, Sep 24, 2017.

  1. Reclzz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #1
    Hi all

    The other day I was using my cMP and suddenly there was a large "click" sound from the tower.

    It won't turn on now, when I push the power button, the GFX card lights up for .5 sec and turns off again and nothing else happens.

    Anyone have any experience with this or have any theories?

    Cheers
    Bo Handskemager Soerensen
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Try SMC reset yet?

    Also, will the cMP boot without graphic card?
     
  3. Reclzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #3
    Thank you, I'll try both when I get home. I did the power button smc reset immediately, but I've just read about the logicboard button on the cMP which I'll try tonight.

    My local authorised Apple repair shop wouldn't even take a look and haven't been able to get my usual electronics technician on the phone who have repaired a couple of monitors for me.
     
  4. seclusion macrumors regular

    seclusion

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #4
    My studio machine is usually left on 24/7.
    Yesterday, I had this problem, when I first plug in the cMP 5.1, 2 red light light up quick and there is nothing else.
    I pulled HD's, video card, ram etc, reseated. I push the power button and there is nothing.
    No sounds, no lights, pushed the 2 buttons on the motherboard.
    I suspect a power supply, but hoping it’s not more. Being in Costa Rica it is difficult to get parts to try.
    :oops:
     
  5. Reclzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #5
    I just tried resetting the SMC with the switch on the logicboard next to the coin cell battery, worked wonders everything is great.

    Is there a way to see why it shot down?

    Thanks h9826790
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    You may go to console have a look
     
  7. Reclzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #7
    Soo, had to reset the SMC again, I just uninstalled SMC Fan Control. I noticed an audible difference straight away between SMC FC on auto and no SMC FC.

    That shouldn't happen under ideal circumstances, right?
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    Correct, SMC FC "auto" basically means SMC FC only use as a monitoring software, fan profile should still natively controlled by SMC logic.
     
  9. Reclzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #9
    I'll keep an eye on it and maybe download a new version of SMC FC
     

Share This Page

8 September 24, 2017