cMP 5,1 Very slow WiFi

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lauwie, May 15, 2015.

  1. Lauwie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #1
    So I've recently bought myself a used cMP 5,1 and completely love it, couldn't go back to my old i7 iMac :)
    The only thing that's not so nice is that my WiFi speeds are much much much slower.
    I used to get 140 Mbps on speedtest.net (I've got 200Mbps connection) and a Tx Rate of 180 Mbps.
    Now I'm getting a Tx Rate of 145 Mbps (which is decent) BUT the download speed is only 18-20 Mbps ??? This is quite bad and makes my NAS server quite a pain to work with.

    I've got no idea on what to do and I can't run an ethernet cable to this point in the house without tearing open half the walls in my house so thats not an option and powerlines don't really work this far either.
    Ow and btw the router is and Airport Extreme AC :)

    Hope someone can help !! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. stevedusa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    If your router supports 802.11ac I'm sure it has to have 5gHz network. See if you can connect to the 5gHz network instead. Right now you are on 2.4gHz "Trash Band" and reduced 20mHz channel width, which explains why you are having some issues.
     
  3. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #3
    I'm now connected to the 5Ghz band and sadly nothing improved :'(
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #4
    This is what the WiFi scanning tool in OS X shows
     

    Attached Files:

  5. stevedusa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    Does the speed test result the same as on 2.4gHz?
     
  6. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #6
    Nope for some reason it's 10 Mbps slower, upload speed stays the same though Oo
     
  7. stevedusa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #7
    The best thing I could suggest right now is do a internal network, single large-file transfer to see if the problem is within the LAN or it has something to do with the WAN.
     
  8. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #8
    Near the router the speeds are 200 Mbps on speedtest.net and 100 MB/s NAS read.
    With a 13" 2014 rMBP in the same room as the cMP I get the same internet speeds as near the router so I guess I'm just going to have to replace the WiFi antenna :mad:
     
  9. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #9
  10. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #10
    As much as I would love this I can't, I don't have carpet and the closest ethernet port in my house is 30 meters from my Mac Pro.
    Maybe I'll ask an electrician to pull some ethernet though the house :3
     
  11. MacVidCards, May 16, 2015
    Last edited: May 16, 2015

    MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    Why not get an AC WiFi card?

    There are super cheap ones now if you don't need BT 4.0

    Also pull out your CPU tray and make sure all the antena wires are snapped on, there are more wires hidden back there, the better ac cards use 3 for WiFi
     
  12. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #12
    Do you guys sell any ac cards ?
    If I upgrade to an ac card without bluetooth could I still use my bluetooth keyboard and trackpad or is this a separate card (thought it was) ?

    ----------

    Would this work ?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/BCM94360CD-..._sbs_ce_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1A04KXHHBWGHEJQJ49QP

    With this ?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Broadcom-BC...1431803712&sr=8-10&keywords=pcie+ac+wifi+card
     
  13. dmylrea macrumors 68000

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #13
    Why not get a Powerline adapter kit and run a wired connection directly from your router to your Mac? It uses the wiring you already have in your walls and works great. Up to 500mbps.

    There are LOTS of different models and prices to choose from, but something simple and cheap from Amazon is this.

    They perform well as long as your home/house has a single breaker panel. You can search "powerline" if you want a name brand.
     
  14. Bad Leopard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    #14
    I see you are using bluetooth.......Listen to this;

    A few months ago, I had to take my nMP in for troubleshooting, and while it was gone, I set my MBP up at the desk where the nMP was. Since I was going to use both TB ports for monitors, I had no choice but to use the wireless of the MBP for internet, since no ethernet port on MBP...no big deal right?

    Well, I got everything set up, and thought heck, I'll just go ahead and use the same bluetooth keyboard I was using with the nMP on the MBP. As soon as I booted up I immediately had way slower internet than usual. After trying several things, I found a post where a guy said his bluetooth was interfering with his wireless, so I thought, seems unlikely, but as soon as I shut off that BT keyboard, BOOM, internet was back to full speed.

    Might be worth a shot.
     
  15. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #15
    I already have one of those running between my server and the nearest ethernet cable, but when I use a powerline in the room where my Mac Pro is I'm lucky if I get 4mbps :p
     
  16. dmylrea macrumors 68000

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #16
    which model? older generation models don't work as well as current generation Powerline.
     
  17. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #17
    DLink AV501 :)
     

Share This Page