cMP DisplayPort -> mini DisplayPort -> Apple Cinema Display Not Working

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by -VoiceOfReason-, Jul 19, 2017.

  1. -VoiceOfReason- macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #1
    I have a 2009 Mac Pro 4,1 flashed to 5,1 and an Nvidia GTX 680 flashed with the Mac ROM.

    I recently upgraded my monitor setup to two 30" Apple Cinema HD Displays and one 27" Apple Cinema Display (with mini DisplayPort and USB).

    The two 30" displays are plugged into the two DVI ports on the 680 and work fine. For the 27" ACD, I ordered a male DisplayPort to female mini DisplayPort adapter (from CableMatters). I could not get the 27" ACD to come on at all for some reason. Previously I used this DisplayPort on the 680 with a DVI adapter to drive another triple monitor display without issue.

    I was only able to get around this by installing the original Nvidia GT120 and using the mini DisplayPort port on that card, with which the monitor works fine.

    Is there any way to get this monitor working on the GTX 680? Has anyone run into this before?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    That Cable Matters cable is non-compliant. They pass through pin 20, which is a no-no.

    Read this thread for more information about the problem, and a link to a different brand cable that works:
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mini-displayport-curiosity.2034700/#post-24350267
     
  4. -VoiceOfReason- thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #4
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    In fact, I just bought a male DP to female mDP adaptor few weeks ago. I totally forget about this pin 20 matter, and just pick the cheapest one on a China internet shop (about $2 including shipping). Luckily it work flawlessly with my ACD :p

    It's a Chinese link, but I still post at here, just in case someone want to know how it looks like and get it on eBay / Amazon etc.

    http://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?id=525452622266
     
  6. -VoiceOfReason- thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #6
    Just posting an update that with the StarTech adapter all is working as expected.

    Thanks all for figuring it out.
     
  7. tracer1 macrumors member

    tracer1

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    SC
    #7
    Same one I have with my GTX970 & ACD, works great. Got mine of Ebay though.
     

Share This Page