cMP is getting thunderbolt ? EDIT:nope :'(

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lauwie, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. Lauwie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #1
  2. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #2
    not gonna happen. thunderbolt cards need support from the chipset on the motherboard. cMP has no such chipset.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    AFAIK, TB PCIe card already exist, however, none of them are supported in the cMP.

    I just have a quick look of that page, and it seems they didn't say the card will work in the cMP either.
     
  4. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #4
    I didn't know that Oo, but if it's based on the official Intel specification shouldn't it work if OS X has the Kexts for it ?
     
  5. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #5
    Well there goes the dream then :(
     
  6. Lauwie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #6
    There are X58 motherboards with thunderbolt so that means the X58 chipset support the interface ?
    So the thunderbolt chipset isn't on the motherboard but would it in theory work if it was placed on the PCIe card ?
    I'm gonna do some research on this.
     
  7. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #7
    Even if it could work its x4 lane and you won't get Thunderbolt 3 speed. You won't even be able to transfer at TB3 top speed unless your internal disk can write data at 40MBps. Be happy with USB 3.1.
     
  8. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #8
    It will never work. The whole point of Thunderbolt was for it to be a direct PCIe connection that can become many other formats such as USB 3, Firewire, etc. via adapters. It will never happen on the cMP.
     
  9. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #9
    Can you link to an X58 board with TB support please. This reminds me of in the Hackintosh thread someone saying that there are Dual CPU X58 boards out there.

    All the boards that Asus / Gigabyte support with there TB Add-In Cards have specific headers on the Motherboard to connect the card too, you also then feed the Display Port from the GPU into the Card as well. The Addin Cards don't just work with ANY Motherboard as much as you may wish it. They need specific boards.

    This isn't going to happen
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    Wow, that's the clickbait headline of the week. I was wondering how someone would get around all the limitations and get something working on the Mac Pro.
     
  11. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    Yeah, I would never click on a thread with this title. I know better.

    Oops... looks like I did :)
     

Share This Page