cMP moves further into the future, 5K is here !

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacVidCards, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #1
    Well, Barefeats said it could be done so I had to find out for myself.

    Going to have to sit pretty close to use that way, but INCREDIBLE display !

    The choices in WHITE are Retina, the Grey aren't.

    I can probably make it work on nMP via eGPU but will be quite throttled by the TB2 interface.

    This is on one of our GTX980s.

    Cool thing is boot screen works in this mode.

    Thank You Nvidia !!!

    Next to try with our GTX970 !
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacVidCards, Mar 12, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015

    MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    GTX970 runs it too. Also, help for early adopters.

    So, as promised I tried with our about-to-be-released GTX970 Mac Edition.

    Runs it just fine.

    I am including some Valley screenshots. When placed into 2560x1440 "Retina" mode the scores improved dramatically.

    So display can be used as a vastly improved 27" Apple if you want. "Look Ma, No pixels !"

    For anyone trying this at home, be prepared for some frustration. The good news is our EFI cards show boot screen in I believe 4K SST mode. It may be 2560x1440, hard to say for sure.

    But when you get to desktop it will be 2560x1440. If both DP ports are connected and active you will see the 2nd one with an oddball res of 848 x 480. I have included a screen shot.

    At that point it is time to power cycle the display. When it comes back it will be full 5K, and you will be amazed at how SMALL everything is. I suggest having "Display menu" installed so that you can quickly choose a Retina resolution. (or sit 2 inches away, 5cm for our European friends)

    The 970 is much noisier than the 980 but scores pretty close.

    Thanks again to Nvidia for giving us these lovely cards and drivers.

    Thanks to Barefeats for breaking the news and running benches.

    And the Great and Powerful Netkas for making the EFI possible.

    Fastest Mac with 5K is now the cMP.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #3
    For scientific purposes, could you run the benchmark in retina 2560x1440 and non-retina 2560x1440? I am not really sure if that even makes a difference to Unigine? Does it?
     
  4. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Good question, I just tried, looks like exactly same score.

    I'm having trouble attaching images, it keeps telling me I have too many windows and tabs open.
     
  5. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #5
    Yeah, I did not think it would make a difference, based on how the retina scaling works and how a 3D engine like this would work, in my head at least, but I it was a great opportunity to put it to rest.
     
  6. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    AMD 7970 weirdness with 5K

    Don't even know what to make of this.

    Obviously now that I have 5K I want to test all of the mDP and DP cards with it.

    Just chucked in an AMD 7970 Reference card.

    The Dell UP2715K is able to run as an SST 4K as well as being 5K. There is even a dedicated mDP port just for SST 4K.

    First shock was that 7970 won't play with the 5K ...AT ALL. The only res it would run from any combo of mDP ports was 800x600 via the 4K port.

    Any chosen res above that shows in profiler as running but gives black screen.

    This is odd because 7970 was first card to do MST 4K 60Hz. I guess Apple's drivers are ONLY MST?

    Very odd.

    Update: 2nd 7970 at first showed 2 @ 5K displays and flickers on and off at 2560x1440. I'm going to guess that it is trying to output in MST mode.

    Either that or it is overlocking past it's limits to hit 5K and losing sync.

    In any case, 7970 isn't 5K happy.
     
  7. mattspace macrumors 6502a

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Any chance you could give us an idea of what it's like as a working solution - does it handle sleep / wake OK without having to power cycle the display, is there any lag / tearing between the (i assume) two halves of the panel. How turnkey is it?

    Is this suitable as your daily drive, or is it the vintage car you tinker with and take out on weekends?

    cheers.
     
  8. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Awhhh, you have to ruin the fun.

    It doesn't seem to sleep right now. At least with 980.

    And you really do have to power cycle it at every boot I do believe.

    Oddly, I was just able to sleep it successfully while running on a GTX760.

    There is a rare version of GTX760 2GB ITX that has Dual mDP. And it is so far the least expensive card to run full 5K.

    A Quadro 6000 with Dual DP couldn't do it, but it was Fermi series.
     
  9. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #9
    Of course, one 5k@60hz needs to output 14,75 mil pixels every 16,6 msec (time of one frame for 60 hz)

    two 4k@60hz gives 16,5 mil pixes every 16,6 msec, but this is dp1,2

    Fermi have DP 1,1 so can output only half of what needed, two dp will give 8,3 mil pixels every 16,6 msec
     
  10. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #10
    How does OS X handle dual displayport out to the Dell? Any issues there?
     
  11. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    Glad to see NVidia is still supporting "last gen" technology. If they are tapped to provide GPUs for the nMP, I hope they continue to support the cMP
     
  12. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #12
    Just seeing this topic. Very cool, MVC. So glad that you and NVIDIA love us here in cMP world. Maybe one day Apple will see their mistake (personal opinion, don't yell at me!) in the nMP and give us a real tower back, or at least update it with the appropriate, current-gen hardware.
     
  13. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    I know its not a 'true' 5K display but i have the option up to 6.4K scaled and thats crazy small...
    [​IMG]

    i took a screen shot of the screen at 5K and it was 26MB :eek: and its in the photo bucket but pointless posting it here as its ridiculous size... I would need to sit here with Bino's stuck to my head... 1440 HiDPI is perfect for me but its so positive to hear the cMP is still strong and will be for the foreseeable future :D
     
  14. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #14
    Is this with an AMD card by chance?

    Bunch of stuff I need to post, had a rather frustrating night with 4K last night.

    Have found that 7970 and other AMD cards still exhibit options to run super-resolutions including and past 5K. But they are "fake". I took photos to illustrate.

    But need to get bad 4K news together.

    Slughead, you should read the Barefeats article, he details how it is done.
     
  15. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    No with a gigabyte GTX Titan 6GB in OSX 10.10.2 running nvidia drivers and CUDA via DP 1.2 to Samsung U28D590 monitor. Unbelievable small screen in 5k like you say...
     
  16. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #16
    And I hope they do even if they DONT get tapped to provide those GPUs. We are at a scary crossroads.
     
  17. SamPotts macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #17
    Have you tried this since El Capitan or 10.10.3? I am thinking about getting a Dell UP2715K shortly. It'd be nice if I didn't have to buy a new card for it.
     
  18. SamPotts macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #18
    Well I've bought a UP2715K so I'll find out for myself soon. Otherwise I'll be buying an NVS510
     

Share This Page