cMP Xeon vs current rMBP benchmarks

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cmm, May 16, 2015.

  1. cmm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #1
    I am tempted to buy a classic Mac Pro with a quad core Xeon, 32GB RAM and an SSD instead of the nMBP for both use as a workstation that would run dual 4K monitors and instead of a separate NAS for my 4 6TB WD RED drives, I'd have them all instead the cMP.

    I was wondering how the performance would be compared to what I have now? a 13 rMBP from 2013? That way I have some baseline on what to expect.

    I don't do anything too intensive, other than wanting to power 2 4K monitors for writing code and reading papers (LaTex, PDFs, etc)... I don't game and maybe I'll compile the odd program on my computer but anything that requires power goes to the uni's supercomputer.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Synchro3, May 17, 2015
    Last edited: May 17, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2
    For CPU only benchmarks, here you go: http://browser.primatelabs.com/mac-benchmarks

    For maxed out Mac Pro 4,1/5,1 with one CPU this link: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/search?q=W3690

    Note that a MacBook Pro will throttle down while doing heavy tasks for a long time, what the benchmarks do not show. The Mac Pro will not. Neither the benchmarks are showing graphics card support, e.g. CUDA, OpenCL etc.. Also with a PCI Express SSD (SSUBX) with 1500 MB/s Read/Write the system will be very responsive in a cMP.
     
  3. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #4
  4. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Pardon my ignorance, but is there a maximum drive size that the Mac Pro will accommodate?
     
  5. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #6
    No, there is no maximum drive size, but some newer HardDisks need another bracket in cMP: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MPRODBKTLG6/
     
  6. mtasquared macrumors regular

    mtasquared

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #7
    Well the base model 2010 Mac pro is just a little bit faster than a 13 inch mbp retina in multicore operations and vice versa in single core mode, so its a wash. The 5770 card is reported by at least one guy to support two 4k monitors. I myself doubt and am pretty sure that would be 30hz, not 60hz (i.e. scrolling and mouse gestures won't be smooth). There's no inexpensive way to two 60hz 4k monitors. That would be new Mac Pro territory. Or at least the 2010 Mac pro would need upgrading/tuning. If you can live at 30hz and/or one monitor there are more options.
     

Share This Page