CMS from scratch

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by janitorC7, May 1, 2007.

  1. janitorC7 macrumors 6502a

    janitorC7

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #1
    is anybody familure with CMS from scratch?

    is it that good?

    do any of you know of any open source alternatives to it, (free?).

    I like the idea of my clients being able to edit tabular data. I do a lot of sites for actors, so this kind of feature is great for resumes.

    any ideas

    thanks
     
  2. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    if you want to build your own cms then all you need to know how to do is have a php and sql database were you post the page data to the database and have the pages call the data form the database.
     
  3. tomoisyourgod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    www.joomla.com
     
  4. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #4
    Technically that's true, but it's also very over-simplified :)

    A from-scratch CMS is a ton of work. TextPattern was written from scratch and took the author a number of years to write. WordPress was written from scratch and is the most popular CMS out there today. Both are free and require PHP/MySQL to run.

    A CMS from scratch, all on your own, is no small task.
     
  5. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    It depends on how complicated you want it to be. A basic cms can be written in a couple of days with a little php/mysql knowledge or even a book.

    A good cms though will take quite a bit more time.

    Personally I use etomite, as its very simple to template for and for users to be trained on. I've tried quite a few others out and found etomite the best for my needs.
     
  6. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #6
    cms from scratch is a cms already. he doesn't mean he wants to make his mown
     
  7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  8. Mr.Texor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #8
    I've tried joomla (and mambo before it), xoops, and several others.. depending on your needs.. I'll recommend drupal
     
  9. tomoisyourgod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #9
    I've never used Drupal.

    I have Xoops, and currently use Joomla!

    Just out of curiosity what's your reason for deploying Drupal?
     
  10. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
  11. eto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    20,000 leagues under the sea and or Duluth
    #11
    i second that! DRUPAL badassiest
     
  12. janitorC7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    janitorC7

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
  13. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #13
    i like the look of it. I saw on some other web tools review site that the developer is giving a copy to creative shops.
     
  14. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #14
  15. Ben Hunt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #15
    CMS from Scratch is now also free & opensource

    We've now put CMS from Scratch open source, so you can download it, use it & modify it (if you want) free of charge within the GPL license.

    See http://code.google.com/p/cmsfromscratch/
     
  16. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #16
    Ben you are awesome! I've been wanting to use this with a clients site, but I didn't have the moolah.
     
  17. mufflon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #17
    really really nice, been meaning to try cms from scratch out but never felt like the benefits would outweigh the costs, so really sweet/cool that it's now open sourced =P
     
  18. janitorC7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    janitorC7

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #18
    Okay, so I;m trying to use it.

    I'm trying to figure out how it works a little more.

    I have 5 pages, I want the client to be able to edit the content on the pages, with the exception of the text all of the pages are the same, please advise

    JC7
     
  19. timmillwood macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #19
    I third that, Drupal is so flexible and powerful
     
  20. macsrules macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #20


    JanitorC7,


    Thanks for the post, this is the first I have heard of this CMS and it looks like it will rock for what I want to do. I am starting to build sites in Joomla but this should be a nice fix to go back and make some of the other sites that I have built in the past editable on the content side. I know you are looking for people that have used this and their experiences.
    Great post though
     
  21. Ben Hunt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #21
    Tip on making bits of pages editable

    To allow clients to edit only certain parts of pages is easy with CMS from Scratch.

    1) Create your pages, with the source of each page calling in a layout include, like << xinc/layouts/general.text >>. (The "x" prefix on the folder name means clients won't even see that folder. Clients don't see, and can't edit, any folder or item that starts with an "x".)
    2) The general.text layout can include a combination of shared private includes (which you might keep in xinc/ also, to prevent clients from seeing them), which could be e.g. main <head> section stuff, and layout markup (header, footer etc.).
    3) It could also refer to content that you want to be editable, like e.g. <<content.html>>. Because it has no folder name, the CMS will look for this first as a child include (belonging to the current page). If it doesn't find one there, it'll look for a free include that's in the same folder as the current page. Clients can edit both of these.

    Hope this is some help,
    Ben
     

Share This Page