COD 4 for the Mac....Great News!!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by baz-ireland, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. baz-ireland macrumors newbie

    baz-ireland

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, Europe.
    #1
    I've been looking for threads on this news, can't seem to find any so I'm starting my own.

    Call of Duty 4 to be released for the Mac, announced at MWSF on the 15th January 2008. To be released in May of this year for the Apple Mac.

    This is great news for us gamers, I'm running COD2 on my 24" Intel 2.8ghz Core 2 Duo Extreme and the multiplayer is great but the game is now dated so much!

    I was so excited about this game, COD4, that I was going to buy a PS3 but hey I can wait till MAY!!:D

    How do you guys think COD4 will run on my hardware? I think it would run sweet on a MacPro machine rather than an iMac?

    My graphics card is an ATI Radeon HD2600.

    Be interested in your comments and thoughts on this subject.

    baz,

    Ireland, Europe!!
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Hi Baz,

    Nice to see more of the country covered ;)

    The HD2600 isn't the greatest card compared to the 2.8ghz processor which rocks, but you should certainly in 'theory' be able to play at a similar level to the playstation 3 native resolution (1280x720).

    I assume there will be a demo available around the time of its release finger crossed. But there is the possibility also that you could wait till may and it turns out the port is an utter piece of poo & dreadful badly optomised resource hog, much like Battlefield 2097 release from EA a few months back and therefore it would be impossible to compare PC/MAC like to like specs.


    What would worry me further though is the multiplayer. With both 360/PS3/PC there is a sizeable online community, and maybe the mac version wont have such as big a community playing the game. But I could be wrong. The Single player campaigns are not the longest - so online really is the lifespan of COD4.

    Personally if you already had a 360 or PS3 then I would recommend you pick up a copy for them, but if not... then certainly as good as COD4 is, it ain't worth the cost of a ps3 on its own.


    Hope that helps

    MRU (down in the Kingdom)
     
  3. baz-ireland thread starter macrumors newbie

    baz-ireland

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, Europe.
    #3
    COD4 for the Mac....

    Kerryman,

    There is quite a community playing COD2 in multiplayer mode, I take all those playing are using a Mac? If so then hopefully they will migrate to COD4.

    COD2 is pretty good to play on multiplayer but your point on the graphics card is interesting. I wonder will Apple ever make a console of their own for gamers wanting to use their platform? But it is good, really good, that software companies are releasing such titles for the Mac in the first place.

    Ironically I had an Xbox360 but sold it prior to Christmas to purchase this iMac!!

    I really do hope the graphics card will be up for the job of COD4, if not how easy/difficult is it to upgrade a graphics card on a new iMac?

    I'm new to Mac's having used PC's since 1980's, and 'switched' 2 years ago!!

    Thanks for your reply, was in Dingle last June for a holiday and love Kerry!!

    thx, Baz.
     
  4. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #5
    If you are so desperate to play the game... why don't you install Windows?
     
  5. baz-ireland thread starter macrumors newbie

    baz-ireland

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, Europe.
    #6
    Window's?


    NOT THAT DESPERATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol

    Viruses....YUK.... reminds me of those bad old:eek: PC days!!


    baz.
     
  6. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #7
    Heh, I feel you but Windows has become more secure over the years, with SP3 Windows XP is rock solid and Vista even more so. In total in my household I have 5 installations of Windows (WinXP/Vista on PC and on Mac Pro and Vista on MBP) and neither has an antivirus program and they had never had any infection.

    It all depends on what you use your computer for and if all you are going to be using it for is games then you'll never get infected. Despite what people think, opening IE doesn't automatically leave you vulnerable, it's not that simple and unless you visit porn sites all the time and download shady files then you won't get any infections.

    I'm just saying, your experience with Windows might be pleasing if playing games is your only interest with that system (as it is with me and honestly it's the only thing that keeps me from switching to an all Mac OSX setup).
     
  7. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #8
    Thats good to know, i play some internet games on XP and some times go on the internet, and I dont run any anti virus software, and I was wondering if I might get infected. Im sure there may still be a slight possibility, but its good to know its not very likely.
     
  8. baz-ireland thread starter macrumors newbie

    baz-ireland

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, Europe.
    #9
    That's a fair point you make. But personally I feel the Mac OS is a better and more FUN please to be. Safari is far faster in my experience than anything on windows (although safari is now available on windows ironically), as far as gaming goes I think PC's are still ahead of mac's (unless you can afford a MacPro with a decent graphics card) which can't even have their graphics cards upgraded!! But nothing will tempt me back to PC's or windows, I've been there and done that and it wasn't a very pleasant experience. I take your point that it depends what you are doing that determines how vunerable you are to viruses and infections on the net. I had a 2K worth PC with an extended warranty that was constantly needing new bits and pieces replaced on it. Vista is just catching up on what Apple have been doing for years now, and Apple are still developing faster and staying ahead. But keeping to the point, gaming is something Apple is not focusing enough on, in my opinion, for those of us that like their platform! COD 4 looks awesome and from what I hear from PC and Xbox 360 friends plays awesome too. How it will play on an iMac, I don't know. I do prefer the keyboard/mouse control over the game pad controller for that type of game but that's a personal thing.

    baz
     
  9. roxnadz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    #10
    I Boot Camp all the time and, sorry, but Windows (XP SP2) is as lame and crashy as it always has been. All I use my BC partition for is games and browsing (mainly for game patches, webmail and news/sports - no porn, etc.). I don't even have Acrobat installed. Even so, Internet Exploder still flops on its behind sometimes - a lot more than, say, Camino on the Mac does.

    I haven't had any viruses either on my Windows partition but I've had my share of freezes, hangups, crashes and the like. It's not a hardware issue because this box has only KPed once and locked up once in OSX in the 15 months I've owned it. Right now I'm averaging a crash of some sort at least once a session in Boot Camp.

    I will admit that wireless behaves a lot better in Windows than in OSX but that's little consolation when you have to deal with crashes and what not all the time.

    Just my experience. Windows is great for games but the less I have to use it, the better.
     
  10. Chafka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #11
    I boot into Bootcamp just to play COD4 - that's it, nothing else. It is just fine for that. I will not be getting COD4 for mac just because when there is an update for the windows version, there will probably be a lag for the updates in the mac version. We have had 3 updates now and if you don't update, you don't get on servers (so far). I don't want to deal with that when the mac version comes out.

    Just my $0.02.
     
  11. baz-ireland thread starter macrumors newbie

    baz-ireland

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, Europe.
    #12
    That's kewl, what hardware are you using? Just curious if you're on an iMac?
    If so how does it play etc?

    Thx for your comments.

    baz
     
  12. Chafka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #13
    I am running on a 2.33 C2D MBP with the 256 MB video card (x1600). I am using an external monitor (22" widescreen) and can only run it at 800x600. I seem to remember it running smoother a while back, but lately I lag every once in a while. I am trying to track down the culprit and am heading toward the soundtrack causing it - every time the enemy plants a bomb or does something that changes the balance of the game, the music responds and I get lag (kinda odd). Other than that, everything runs good.

    My entire setup:

    2.33 Ghz MBP
    Nostromo n52 Speedpad
    Samsung 22" Widescreen monitor
    MX Revolution Mouse
    Imic external soundcard

    Incidentally, there is another guy in our clan that is running it on one of the new MBPs with 4 gig of ram and the Nvidia card and seem to have no problems either (seems to kill me more than I kill him lol).
     
  13. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #14
    I would love to get the mac version of COD4.... but I will ONLY do so if it's NOT a CIDER game (I don't think it is though), and you MUST be able to play online with the PC version... otherwise i'll just buy the PC version, which i was considering doing already.

    Also, do we REALLY think it's gonna be released in May? I mean, wasn't Aspyr supposed to release quake wars within WEEKS of it's PC release? Quake Wars was released for PC in the US on October 2nd. Over three and a half months later, we have no news on the mac version of quake wars... they haven't even listed the system reqs. for it yet... and since the Aspyr site says "System requirements are finalized approximately 4-6 weeks before a title ships," that means we probably won't see it for at LEAST another month... probably significantly longer.
     
  14. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #15
    I agree with everything you just said, and feel the same way
     
  15. patioman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    #16
    Glad to hear it. I have Call of Duty 4 for my Xbox 360 and it's AMAZING.
     
  16. gelatin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
  17. aLoC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #18
    Aspyr have not done Cider games yet.

    These days there are several different game consoles as well as two PC platforms. So probably game source code is written more portable in the first place (than say a few years ago).
     
  18. picchiant macrumors newbie

    picchiant

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #19
    bootcamp?

    why don't you install xp on a bootcamp partition, and enjoy all the games you want on your mac?

    ale
     
  19. Chafka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #20
    Please read my post above (at the end I say that a guy in my clan is running it on a new model).
     
  20. baz-ireland thread starter macrumors newbie

    baz-ireland

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, Europe.
    #21
    installed Vista, COD 4 won't run.....!!!

    Just installed Vista using boot camp. I ran cod4 pc version. It simply doesn't work!! Error message 'encountered unrecoverable error'. I have tried every known fix. Still the same error message. I think it is an issue with DirectX and also the grahpics card on my iMac 2.8ghz. My graphics card is the ATi Radeon HD 2600. I see the graphics card is attached to the motherboard and is not upgradable!!!!! Vista also runs very slow and media centre's appearance is 'blurred'. I have the display settings set to max. Makes you appreciate Leopard. The iMac isn't a gaming machine I know, wish I'd invested a few more pounds and bought a MacPro machine!! It will be interesting to see how the COD 4 Mac version runs on my machine. Don't fancy buying an Xbox360 or PS3 as I like the keyboard/mouse control over the controller. Anyone else got COD 4 running on an iMac via Windows?

    baz
     
  21. mperkins37 macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #22
    I may have to pick that up

    I got A Plastation 3 for Christmas, & COD 4 for my birthday, I have been trying to play it but the fact that I've played on my computer so long makes it awkward. I think I might have to pick up the Mac version just to play it good.
    Can you play it with a playstation 3 with a Keyboard & mouse?
     
  22. amakh007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #23
    I run it fine...but use XP not Vista....Vista s a resource hog
     
  23. Martin C macrumors 6502a

    Martin C

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #24
    I have this game for the 360 and it is awesome. The single-player campaign took me from 6-7 hours in total, but it was very intense. The multiplayer action is very good as well.
     
  24. f(A)t'kId macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #25
    Aspyr

    I talked to the guys at the Aspyr booth down at MWSF and they said it will be completely ready to go by May (fingers crossed). Also that from day one you should be able to hop on and play against those windows boys and girls. So we shouldn't be limited to playing against other Macs :D
     

Share This Page