Cod 4 on Imac intel duo 2 core?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Crown16, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. Crown16 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #1
    I have an iMac 17'' intel duo 2 core 2.00Ghz with atm 1Gb ram and a ati x1600 video card. I have vmware fusion and windows xp pro installed. I Tried to install cod 4 on vmware the other day and it wouldnt work. kept on wining about the direct x. so i checked and installed direct x again. what is the problem? why wont it work. if its to little ram, im getting 3gb ram in a month or so.
     
  2. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #2
    Its to do with the game requiring a DirectX version higher than VMware/Parallels supports (I think those to work with 7, but I may be wrong). Boot camp is your best option for playing games.
     
  3. Crown16 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #3
    hmm ok, ill see if i can get that. but do you think cod 4 will work with my video card? or can i really use the extra ram?
     
  4. MacBooksRock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #4
    It should work, it worked on my MacBook, and it has a shared vid. card.
     
  5. Crown16 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #5
    Ok, btw a macbook can handle 4gb ram, always thoguht is also had a max of 3gb.
     
  6. takeabyteoutta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
  7. Crown16 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #7
    Problem solved, I made a bootcamp partiotion like you guys said, installed vista. Runs smooth. and then installen the leopard cd so i could use my mighty mouse and keybord. and then installed cod 4 which had direct x on it:p and that runs smoothly to. So Thnx!!
     

Share This Page