Windows COD Advanced Warfare - Can't scale to fullscreen

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MacDaveSF, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. MacDaveSF macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #1
    Hi-

    On my rMBP (Bootcamp Win 8.1), COD Advanced Warfare only runs full screen at full native resolution (2880x1800), which is way too sluggish. I want to run it at, say, 1920x1200, but it runs as a small square in the center of the screen, not scaling to fullscreen like every other game does.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    David
     
  2. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Hi David,

    Set the Windows desktop resolution to your desired resolution then play. Let me know how performance is since I'm considering picking up a PS4 for House of CoD if the rMBP can't run it sufficiently.
     
  3. MacDaveSF thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #3
    Reducing Windows resolution to 1920x1200 first didn't work - the game still ran in a small window when selecting that resolution in-game.

    However, after trying different combinations, I found that I was able to get the game to run full screen at 1920x1200 by selecting "borderless windowed mode" rather than Fullscreen. This works, regardless of the desktop resolution set in Windows. I assume this is some kind of a bug, but at least it's work-aroundable.

    Performance seems decent at 1920x1200 on my late 2013 rMBP with GeForce GT 750M 2GB video. I haven't tweaked settings or tested frame rates, but it is certainly playable with the default settings suggested by the GeForce Experience app.
     
  4. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    I'm installing Windows on the same machine now. Can you comment on what you define as "playable?" Is it 60fps if all the settings are on low?
     
  5. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    At least that did end up working for you. Could you try playing on High? Personally I'm fine with 25fps+ at 1080p for the campaign.
     
  6. MacDaveSF thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    #6
    Has anyone figure out a good combination of resolution and advanced graphics settings for COD AW on a rMBP?

    The cutscenes are the biggest framerate problem, but I'm also finding that lower res's make the gameplay better...1280x800 seems to work pretty well. I've also changed the render resolution to "medium" instead of "native", but I'm not sure if that's necessary...

    What are the optimal graphics settings for the rMBP with NVIDIA GeForce GT 750 M 2GB?
     
  7. vbedia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    #7
    That's the way it usually works; you lower the resolution then frames go up.

    I've found myself 1280x800 a good resolution to play most games with good frames. I am playing recently Alien: Isolation even a bit higher resolution 1600x900 and it's all good.

    The biggest issue i am having with this CoD: Warfare Advanced is its size; 55GB it's unacceptable to my SDD on my rMBP under windows 8.1. Just way too big.
     
  8. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    Pick up a USB 3.0 HDD. I just put my Windows apps and games on that and keep the OS on the SSD.

    Any consensus to the best settings COD: AW can be played at at 1080p? Looks like I'll be picking up a console though...
     

Share This Page