COD Black Ops 2 via Bootcamp on MBP Retina

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Xgm541, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. Xgm541 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #1
    Has anyone played the game yet via bootcamp? How's your performance?
     
  2. Xgm541 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
  3. locoboi187 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #3
    Do it and let us know lmao. I have the game, never installed it. I have my Windows 8 and Windows 7 USB drive, never installed it. I'll get to it eventually after school work :p
     
  4. Xgm541 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #4
    See that's the thing. I have windows 8 and installed call of duty via steam. It plays on Mac settings at "retina" resolution but the fps is around 20-30.

    It's easy to get it to 60 by lowering settings but for some reason there are hiccups making the fps dip and making multiplayer unplayable. Was wondering if anyone had similar issues.
     
  5. KyleYDG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    Fort Worth TX
    #5
    I don't play call of duty anymore but I know on the steam forum someone else posted a video of the performance and it was between 30-40 fps on medium/low spec settings. There's also been a lot of people having problems with nvidia cards and black ops 2 though so I wouldn't be surprised to see a driver update or a game update soon to resolve it since the game is essentially the same graphically as all the others have been since MW2 there's no reason we shouldn't see similar performance.
     
  6. Xgm541 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
  7. locoboi187 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #7
    Go to Windows 7. There is NO increase in game performance with Windows 8 according to benchmarks. Windows 7 is well supported on Macs right now without any driver issues so I suggest sticking with Windows 7 for now. Also, I'd say play at 1920x1080. You'll be fine haha
     
  8. locoboi187 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #8
    My FPS sucks. 20 on all low..this isnt normal and my I reset my SMC. :confused:
     
  9. Mikedkr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #9
    Playing at 1920x1080 with 70-100 FPS, Shadows Medium, AA OFF.

    might set texture filtering High and try to put Shadows OFF or Low and see if i still can get around 60+ FPS
     
  10. locoboi187 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #10
    Mine was a clean install of Windows 7. Curious are you running x86 or x64 version of the OS?
     
  11. Xenn0X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #11
    do you use bootcamp nvidia driver or latest beta with black ops 2 support?
     
  12. locoboi187 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #12
    I didn't get the beta drivers but i shall do that probably lmao. i downloaded the latest stable from nvidia, not the beta.
     
  13. Mikedkr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #13
    I'm running 64bit Windows 7 and 306.97 Nvidia drivers
     
  14. yanksrock100 macrumors 6502a

    yanksrock100

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #14
    Found this on youtube, thought you guys might like to see.
     
  15. Xgm541 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #15
    FYI downloading the beta nvidia drivers fixed the issue for the most part.
     
  16. joer80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #16
    The patch they just release did wonders for my retina. Here is my youtube video.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqdocPooeag

    I am using 1680x1050 since it is 5:3, and high shadows with 4x aa. I am getting 45-60 fps, but I can go to 2x aa and get 60-70 fps with high shadows.

    I bet they had only 1 cpu core on or something silly like that at launch, because these settings would have gave about 15-20 fps just a week ago. At launch I had to play at 1280x800.
     
  17. snapdragonx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    #17
    Yep I can confirm it's easily playable.

    Using 310.54 beta drivers, 1920x1080, high textures/shadows, etc, 2x AA, I'm getting 40-70FPS. 40 in the very intense battle scenes but usually closer to 70.

    Temps are ok too.. GPU doesn't go above 80, CPU sitting around 60. The fan is going nuts though lol.
     
  18. joer80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #18
    Isnt that 16:9? Why don't you choose 5:3?
     
  19. level30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    #19
    Solution for low fps

    Hi,

    I´m from Austria so sorry for my shool english. (long time ago:))
    A lot of grammatical errors >> have fun!

    I had the issue that i cant play BO 2 @ 1680x1050 with more than 18 fps all setting medium.

    I have installed windows via bootcamp 3 times and always the same issue.

    Everybody who have the same problem here>> all you have to do is the "SMC-reset"

    Dont know how to do that? Just plug in your macbook to your power supply an turn it off! Push together left shift, left ctrl an right alt. Hold it and turn on your macbook>> voila 60 fps again. :cool:

    It seems that this is a bug and i don´t know to fix it permanently. Maybe the issue will come back if you use the standby/sleep option>> i have no idea.

    have fun!

    markus
     
  20. snapdragonx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    #20
    Because I'm using an external display.

    What's the benfit of 5:3?
     
  21. theineffablebob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #21
    Runs fine at 1080p, high settings. I'd say an avg of 45 fps.
     
  22. BlueRaider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #22
    I've been playing via Bootcamp/Windows 8 at both "Retina" resolution and 1920x1200 and it's really smooth at either setting. I did have some problems a while back (after the EFI update) where the frame rates were awful. I checked my GPU with Cinebench and I was getting like 16Fps via Cinebench. I ended up resetting SMC and my FPS in Black Ops improved dramatically and my Cinebench score went back up to 48Fps.

    I would check via a GPU benchmark what your scores are now. Reset SMC if they seem low. I think other people have had to reset a few times to get it to finally work
     
  23. Xgm541 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #23
    And fps isn't playable at 45fps :p. at least not In my opinion. I need 60!!
     
  24. Xenn0X, Nov 29, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012

    Xenn0X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #24
    i play on external monitor on 1920x1080.
    Details: Extra
    Shadows: off
    MSAA: 2x
    HBOA: off
    FXAA: on
    Occlusion: Medium
    Dept of field: Medium
    fps: always 70+

    Perfectly playable in bootcamp with windows 7 and latest nvidia beta driver
     
  25. 2Turbo macrumors 6502

    2Turbo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    #25
    Just confirming, was that Black Ops 2? Did you overclock?
     

Share This Page