Windows COD Ghosts Bootcamp Graphics Settings

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by droo, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. droo macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #1
    Guys,

    Got COD Ghosts running under bootcamp on my RMBP and was wondering if anyone else has and what GFX settings they are running ?

    Will post mine once I think I have them Optimum.

    Droo
     
  2. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Interestingly the Xbox One version is 720p. Do 1080p around max :p.
     
  3. madeirabhoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #3
    is it worth my trying this on my 2011 3.1ghz imac?
     
  4. droo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #4
    No harm in trying it - will run just case of how low to drop the settings.

    Droo
     
  5. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #5
    They're not the best-looking, but CoD games tend to scale pretty well. You should be able to play at fairly high detail settings on 2011 hardware.
     
  6. madeirabhoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #6
    weirdly the game really underestimates my mac capabilities. pressing the optimal settings wacks everything down to low, 640x480 and it runs 150 fps but looks like *****. bumping it up manually to higher settings, i still haven't got it to be too slow, but not sure what the best things to bump up are.

    what would someone suggest?

    ----------

    by the way, if anyone gets it crashing within 10 seconds, turn off texture detail
     
  7. TheSlimOne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #7
    Is there any chance that it takes an insane amount of time for it to load and run for anyone else?

    I have 16g of ram and a Mid 2012 intel HD 4000.



     
  8. TechZeke macrumors 68020

    TechZeke

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    #8
    In games nowadays, textures are always the easiest to run.(especially on nVidia cards, as nVidia cards have significantly higher texture fill rates compared to AMD cards) I always max these out with no issue. Resolution, AA, and AF are usually have the most immediate impact to frame-rate.(AMD cards do better in this department, as AMD cards have insane pixel fill rates) Shadows as well, depending on the game. View Distance is is a big one as well, but it only really impacts performance in open world games like ARMA or Borderlands or RTS Games.
     
  9. hassaan-w macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    #9
    Insane Loading times.

    I tried to start the campaign but the loading took way tooo long. The whole cutscene finished and only 1% (approx.) had loaded. The rest Of the loading passed 15 mins and i didn't bother continuing. I know i have a Macbook Air but I run Mw3 and BLOPS 2 just fine on medium settings (45-55 fps). Any ideas ?

    Specs:
    MBA mid-2012
    4 GB RAM
    Intel HD 4000
    [​IMG]

    BOOTCAMP: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
     
  10. TheSlimOne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #10
    I have the same issue. To even play the game I had to find drivers that weren't on the intel site. The ones that installed with bootcamp made the cut scene play totally smooth but the game wouldn't go. It would crash right after the cutscenes.

    The newest drivers I was able to find which I think ended in. .327 or .337. I can't remember right now I am at work. I can only play the game smooth at 800x600 all eye candy off. And the cut scenes are auper choppy audio and video.

    I have a MBP mid 2012 i5 with 16gb ram, Intel HD 4000

    I think it has to do with the vid card only having 64meg of dedicated. It would normally pull from the installed system ram only with you selecting it in bios which we don't have. If there was some sort of work around I bet it would smooth out and be a lot quicker
     
  11. clk5068 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    #11
    Macbook Air mid 2012

    I have a 13" MBA i7 2 3667U.

    Upon original installation, the audio/video for the opening scene were flawless but the game would crash before any game play. I updated the video card driver from the intel website and now the audio/video in cut scenes/opening credits is choppy as can be.

    I had great success playing the game on all the normal settings and the gameplay didn't miss a beat. Until i hit level 7. I see on the ghost support page that another person was having the system crash upon loading of "Federation Day". I could get part of the cut scene to load 1/5 times but either way it would crash.

    So i tried to reinstall the game (deleting it through steam seemed to be the only way) and now it won't even start. The stuttering during the opening credits is still there, however my computer suddenly is using 100% cpu at the main menu and fails.

    I'd love some ideas.


    Thanks

    Chris
     
  12. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    cMBP 15", 2.6Ghz i7, GT 650M 1GB.
    res: 1680x1050
    gfx: mostly on high

    played through the campain and had no sever framrate drops. It felt like a constant 30fps
     
  13. TheSlimOne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #13
    I think we are on the same lines. I am pretty sure you are locking up at the same spot I do. It does one cut scene and then says one word of the next and locks

    Its gotta be the fact the intel card isn't really up to the task. I had no real issues with BF4 single player all the way to the end and I can play the multiplayer on Ghosts with a lot of eye candy off smoothly.
     

Share This Page