COD4 mac fps is a fail!!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by exoskel8, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. exoskel8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys I'm new to the forums so hi.

    Ok, I bought cod4 about a year ago, but never got into it. Now, I recently started playing and it was fun. My fps, though, was absolutely terrible.

    I have lowered the settings down to very low (no depth of field, shadows)
    it still hovers around 15-20

    my computer is a white macbook (2008)
    i have a 2.1 GHz processor
    my graphics card is an Intel GMA X3100
    and i have 2gb ram, i'm upgrading to 4 soon.


    Also, on a side note, sometimes when i'm in a dark area of a map, my weapon, and all the stuff around me (aside from walls), like the scenery goes pitch black. This is just weird and looks bad because it dosn't seem to happen to other people.
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    It's your video card. The X3100 is horrible at games.

    And no, you cannot upgrade your video card because it's soldered onto the motherboard.

    And no, upgrading the ram won't do much because the limitation is the video card.
     
  3. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #3
    Honestly, I don't think it's realistic to expect a satisfying CoD4 gaming experience on a Macbook.
     
  4. El Cabong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #4
    If it's any consolation, CoD4 is terribly optimized for OSX. Playing in Boot Camp Vista on my MBP gets me a significant boost in frame rate over running in OSX, even with higher settings.

    Unfortunately, at the end of the day, your computer simply isn't up to the task. The RAM upgrade won't do you much good.
     
  5. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #5
    Yeah, I think most of the people I know (including me) who want to game go with a Mac & combine an xbox or playstation with it. (I have a GMA 950 macbook.)
     
  6. bsblvnv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    That's not true, on my MB COD4 played great. I just got it today. I am definitely disappointed to, but I am disappointed in the game not the MB. It was so short, I beat the thing in 4 hours. When I pay 50 bucks for a game I want more than a few good hours of game play. I know, I know I could play it again and again. But once you beat it the first time, you know whats next so it's not that fun anymore IMO.
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    yes but you have a 9400M, the OP has a X3100! the differences in power are crazy.
     
  8. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    When I had COD4 for Mac my fps was 35-40, which is fine. It must be your hardware that cannot support the game.
     
  9. bsblvnv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #9
    I understand that I was just trying to let people know you can have a good gaming experience on the MB I didn't think we were talking about anyone in particular.
     
  10. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    The multi player is what COD games are all about, which they unfortunately casualised in MW2.
     
  11. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #11
    Yup that line is the problem, the GMA cards are a pain when you need gaming performance. The good news is the newer MacBooks have a better 9400 card that allows you to play newer games like BioShock on medium settings.

    Then again if you want to be gaming spending a little more money on a machine with a good card is worth it as it means you Mac will stay playable for that little bit longer. Although buying a MacPro is a little overkill :)

    Edwin
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    ahh righto :) carry on then :D
     
  13. PiusPatronus macrumors member

    PiusPatronus

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #13
    Not too much about the power actually.
    Yes the 9400M is definitely more powerful that the X3100 but so I have heard ages ago that the X3100 has capabilities and becomings of being a good integrated video card.
    Problem is mostly is that its an INTEL video processor and anyone in the industry knows that those are not particularly the ones you use for "gaming" if you get my drift.

    Im quite surprised that the OP got the frame rates that he had. I remember playing Counter Strike: Source on lowest resolution and lowest settings that had 3-5 FPS (on my old X3100 laptop).
     
  14. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #14
    The hardware features on the 9400 are way more powerful than the X3100, true the Mac drivers are not as optimised as the PC but the 9400 is still has enough hardware features to run games like BioShock were as the X3100 does not.

    For example all Feral games (including BioShock) run quite well on the 9400 (better than some dedicated cards in older Intel Macs) but the X3100 is only supported for the older or less complex titles like LEGO Batman or Rome Total War.

    As you said the Intel card was designed to primarily run an OS and normal applications not graphics intensive things like games.

    Edwin
     
  15. ZazenZach macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #15
    that's not true at all. cod4 plays at mid high settings on my macbook

    it's just not reasonably to play a game on such an old videocard
     
  16. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #16
    Agree completely, especially under OSX. The OP might have a little better luck under XP via BootCamp.
     
  17. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #17
    It works fine in my MacBook Pro with discreet graphics card.
     
  18. Sargiel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    West Sussex, England
    #18
    Just had to chime in and say I was happy with the FPS on my iMac. Aspyr ported COD4 well and the performance was very close to the windows version on similar hardware.

    For reference mine is a 2.33Ghz Core 2 Duo, 3GB and 7600GT.
     
  19. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #19
    well, I don't play games on mac os x because of a lack of recent updated games. call of duty 4 is in version of 2008. it's almost two years behind as mac games have been always. mac gaming developing is not bring fortune nor wasting time. 99% of gaming are all depend on windows side or console box. I have heard that mass effect 2 has been sold more than $2 millions in four days. it's huge success ever in 2010. anyway, you mac users can't even play mass effect 2 on your mac yet. I don't think that Bioware will make mac version ever. so you should use bootcamp, play damn games you want. that's only you can do. but comparing to PC machine, fps is still not good as much as windows. I have 4 macs and PCs (combined laptops, and desktops). I never play games on my mac because performance is not well what I expected. PC is still (forever) better than mac.
     
  20. JoeDukey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    plano
    #20
    i was thinking about buying cod but the only reasone i would want it is to play it online, so my question is, does anyone play online and if so are the alot of players cus i hate getting a game and when you get online theres like 4 people
     
  21. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #21
    I just made this pic for you :D
    You will NEVER have troubles finding a game on CoD4 right now and for many months to come.

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #22
    Last I looked, there were about 12,000 COD4 servers up and running. The game gets a lot of play. Many or most of the PC gamers didn't go to MW2 because of the peer-to-peer baloney that Infinity Ward tried to force down everyone's throats.
     
  23. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #23
    Well, from those 12.000 server 11.500 are empty but still, there's enough players.
     
  24. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #24
    Dude, the real gem is the multiplayer. Ever heard of it? :/
     
  25. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #25
    I agree. I only play the single player one or two levels, enough to get used to the weapons and physics. I've always found SP on these FPS to be kind of lame - especially true of MW2 IMHO. And now that MP in MW2 is so bad...well, I don't play MW2 at all now.
     

Share This Page