COD4 Online Woes

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by machinesleet, Oct 4, 2009.

  1. machinesleet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    #1
    Hi all

    I'm having trouble playing COD4 online. I have clocked up probably a few too many hours playing it but i have had a problem that seems to be getting a lot worse lately.

    Here is the crux of the problem, I am playing online with a ping of about 40-60 about 70fps, everything is going fine for about 5 minutes and then bang! I am lagging, not really badly but enough to affect your gameplay massively. my ping doesn't seem to change but my fps is around 20-40, really not playable.

    I have had a look online in the past and found something about port forwarding, my ports TCP/UDP 28900-29000 (for the game) are open.

    A very important point here is that I have in the past played the game perfectly without port forwarding, on a worse wireless connection, for hours and it has been fine! I have also had a LAN connection to the router and the problem still happens.

    what seems to be another interesting fact is that it doesn't matter what resolution or settings i use, the same problem occurs.

    I have a 13" MBP, with 2.6 GHz core 2 duo processor, 4GB of memory. GeForce 8600M GT. External Monitor is Samsung Syncmaster 2233bw which I use when playing

    have reinstalled a couple of times and its still the same

    Anything else you need to know just ask

    Thanks
     
  2. zbasarab macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #2

    it sounds like you have a problem with your internet provider not any hardware/software problems with your mac.
     
  3. MrBean macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #3
    I doubt it's network. Pretty damn sure it's something about SL.

    Here's my thread about it :

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=776877

    Even though I have never had activity monitor up while playing, I am pretty sure it's some kind of memory leak, or at least it sure damn feels that way.
     
  4. Jottle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    #4
    Are you running snow leopard? Does this happen in single player?
     
  5. machinesleet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
  6. machinesleet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    #6
    ok i can't find the single player disc

    i have rememberd this command in the console to draw the 'lagometer'

    now the question is, does this mean for the connection? (i presume its this) or does this mean the computer struggling? or a combination of both?

    if it means the connection then i know that is the problem

    every 2 seconds it alternates between being blue (rolling past quick) to being yellow (rolling past slow, this is when it lags)

    i downloaded a program to check for open ports and found that the COD ones weren't actually open! i have gone through the setup a few times (sky netgear router) but even if it says the ports should be open, the check doesn't find them! no idea what to do now
     
  7. machinesleet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
  8. Kaos Theory macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #8
    New Software?

    Have you downloaded any new software that you can remember? When I played CoD2 on my iMac, it played fine at first, then I installed some updates, and it went crazy laggy, then another update, and it's pretty smooth. I play CoD4 Multiplayer on OSX Leopard 10.5.8 on an Nvidia 8800GS, and I get 45-90 FPS constant on high settings. Is it possible that you could be recording? Won't hurt to check. I think it's under the game data files, then video. An easy way to tell is if your HDD is full, lol. Also, are you running v.1.3? Don't know if that would affect it... Sorry, that's all I can come up with. Good luck man. :apple:
     
  9. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    #9
    Played COD on a Mac, but have migrated all game action to my PS3.

    Isn't that the best way to play really?
     
  10. Kaos Theory macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #10
    No sir. Nothing can beat the keyboard/mouse combo. Lol, I even got a Wii instead of a PS3 because I can't stand the joystick setup for most games. Also, there's a lot more interaction with people in online games on a computer than on a console. Of course, if you have a PS3 and like it, it's probably best for a lot of games. I play CoD4 and 2 on my iMac and love 'em, but I don't have all my games for Mac. I mean, if you have a Mac and, say, want Modern Warfare 2 the day it comes out (i.e, don't want to wait for the Mac port), and you have a PS3, you should get it for PS3-- there's no way I would install Windows on my Mac if I could do that. :apple:
     

Share This Page