Coda adds empty lines to my html files

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Snookerman, May 19, 2010.

  1. Snookerman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #1
    I just downloaded a trial version of Coda in order to test it before I buy it. I connected to a remote server, and opened some html files to edit them. Every time I open a file, code adds an empty line/row after every line of code. My files didn't have any empty lines at first, only code on every line. After opening them in coda, they had every other line blank. If I then did some small change and saved, and then reopened the file again, coda added more empty lines. Here's how it looks:
    Original code:
    HTML:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
    <title>Title</title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="screen.css" type="text/css" media="screen"/>
    </head>
    <body>
    <div class="header">...
    
    Code after being opened and saved through Coda:
    HTML:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
    
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    
    <head>
    
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
    
    <title>Title</title>
    
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="screen.css" type="text/css" media="screen"/>
    
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <div class="header">...
    Code after being opened and saved two times through Coda:
    HTML:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
    
    
    
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    
    
    
    <head>
    
    
    
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
    
    
    
    <title>Title</title>
    
    
    
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="screen.css" type="text/css" media="screen"/>
    
    
    
    </head>
    
    
    
    <body>
    
    
    
    <div class="header">...
    It just goes on. Does anyone else have this problem? Do you know how I can fix it? Is it a bug? Thanks!
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Sounds like a line ending issue. Mac/Linux uses \n (line feed) for line endings, while Windows uses \r\n (carriage return, line feed). Some applications can have problems dealing with the two characters used for line endings and can cause double spacing of lines as you're seeing. I don't have Coda to see if you can adjust what line endings the file uses, but should be easy to find in the preferences if it exists. TextWrangler (free) will show what line ending is set on a file if you want to check things out there.
     
  3. CMT macrumors regular

    CMT

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #3
    You can see the line ending in Coda as well, click on the little gear in the bottom of the document window.

    But, anyway, this sounds like a bug!

    It's difficult to say yes or not. Independently, if possible try to isolate the problem and then contact panic.
     
  4. Snookerman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #4
  5. Snookerman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #5
    Ok, I've even tried to convert the line anding to Unix, and to remove all line endings and adding my own by hitting return. Nothing seems to help, Coda keeps adding empty lines. I've e-mailed Panic yesterday, but who knows if they'll answer. Am I the only one with this problem?
     
  6. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    In my experience, Panic has excellent support and they WILL respond. I know they have a lot of incidents for Transmit 4, but I am sure they will get back to you on the issue.

    If it takes awhile, and if you are on twitter send them a tweet @panic, they are typically quick to respond.
     
  7. citizenzen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #7
    They never got back to me over my issue with Transmit 4, which still persist even after installing their upgrade.

    $34 dollars down the drain and I'm using Cyberduck.

    What are the chances of me spending $99 for any of their other products?
     
  8. Snookerman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #8
    I've tweeted them, so hopefully they'll get back to me.
     
  9. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    I know they had a lot of incidents. Drop them a tweet. They are probably still working on a fix, haven't had a change to get to the incident or issues with a higher number of reports are being handled first.

    Since T4 is so new, there are of course going to be bugs, I wouldn't base my decision to buy their other products on the release of a significant update especially when they have had an excellent track record (in my experience).

    It doesn't help you, but I haven't had any issues with T4, but in the past they have been very friendly and prompt.
     
  10. citizenzen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #10
    I don't tweet.

    Rather, I'll just drop them.
     
  11. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    Good for you.
     
  12. Snookerman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #12
    You're right, they are prompt. They've answered my e-mail a few hours ago, and my tweet a few minutes ago. Unfortunately, the e-mail said I should probably change the line endings to "Windows" and the tweet said I should e-mail them. :rolleyes:

    I really hope we can fix this, because I really like Coda.
     

Share This Page