Code signing certificates provison profiles etc

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by jjanes, May 3, 2013.

1. jjanes macrumors newbie

Hello all this topic has not been answered recently so I am asking it again I need assistance with setting up the proper certificates, private and public keys in keychain access so that I can create and distribute Apps to the Apple Store.

I have been developing for a few years but am in now way close to being experienced I came from the PC world so alot of the nuances of the mac was something that I got help getting installed so that I could start producing Apps without really knowing how or why these steps were needed I had a macbook pro and everything was setup on it just fine but it died a quiet death and was replaced by a new macMINI but now I need to get those things set up again.

The bad news is now Apple has changed how I get all this done so I tried it myself by following the only thing I could find that was close but I am at the stage that I can create an App build and test it on physical devices but it won't allow me to use a provison profile for the Appstore.

I will break this part up into to sections
    the first part is what I have done to try and resolve this and the second is questions

FIRST PART
    The way I understand it is that on a new system in order to be guaranteed that I am the person that is making modification/coding/transfer/editing/whatever, I need a private key like my signature and this is stored on my computer.

A certificate is like a wrapper around my key allowing me to do certain things like code for iPhone Apps but could be for other things as well such as secure email and such but in this case it is to be used for coding